
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 

15-DAY NOTICE OF MODIFICATION TO THE TEXT OF THE PROPOSED 
AMENDMENT OF BOARD RULE 1845, AUTHORIZED BLEEDER MEDICATION, 

AND DOCUMENT ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE. 

 

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code (GC) section 11346.8(c) and section 
44 of Title 1 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR), the Californian Horse Racing 
Board (Board) is providing notice of changes that have been made to the text of the 
proposed amendment of Board Rule 1845, Authorized Bleeder Medication. 

CHANGES TO THE PROPOSED TEXT 

The originally proposed text was noticed to the public on January 24, 2020 and was the 
subject of a public hearing on March 26, 2020.  The proposed text was then modified 
based on recommendations made by stakeholders and Board members following the 
public hearing and sent out for a 15-day notice to the public on March 27, 2020. 
Subsequent recommendations were made by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) 
upon review of the rulemaking file.  The modifications reflected in this Notice are in 
response to recommendations made by the OAL. 

A copy of the full text of the regulations with the proposed changes indicated is attached.  
Additions to the originally proposed text appear in double underlined text and deletions 
are shown in double strikethrough. 

§ Rule 1845, Authorized Bleeder Medication 

Proposed subsection (a)(1) has been modified to provide that furosemide is prohibited in 
two-year-olds entered to race, as specified in Board Rule 1843.5 (a). This amendment 
clarifies that two-year-olds are prohibited from receiving furosemide 48 hours before post 
time of the running of the race, but can still receive furosemide for training purposes to 
treat Exercise-induced Pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH). 

DOCUMENTS ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE 

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code sections 11346.8(d), 11346.9(a)(1), 
and 11347.1, the Board is providing notice that documents and other information which 
the Board has relied upon in adopting the proposed regulations have been added to the 
rulemaking file and are available for public inspection and comment. 

 
The documents and information added to the rulemaking file are as follows: 

• Addendum to the Initial Statement of Reasons 
 
 
 
 



WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
 
Any interested person may submit a written statement relating to the modified language 
during the public comment period from June 22, 2020 to July 7, 2020.  All written 
comments must be submitted to the Board no later than July 7, 2020.  The Board will 
only consider comments received at the Board’s office by that time.  Submit written 
comments to: 

Zachary Voss, Policy and Regulations Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Email: zavoss@chrb.ca.gov 
 

All written comments received by July 7, 2020, which pertain to the indicated text changes 
will be reviewed and responded to by the Board’s staff as part of the completion of the 
rulemaking file.  Please limit your comments to the modifications to the text.  Text 
proposed to be added to the rulemaking in this comment period is displayed in the double 
underline and proposed deletions to the rulemaking in this comment period are displayed 
in double strikethrough. 

Questions concerning the proposed amendments may be addressed to Zachary Voss at 
(916) 263-6036, emailed to zavoss@chrb.ca.gov, or mailed to the address above.  If 
Zachary Voss is not available, questions concerning the proposed amendment may be 
directed to Amanda Drummond, Policy and Regulations Manager, at (916) 263-6033 or 
amdrummond@chrb.ca.gov. 

AVAILABILITY OF RULEMAKING DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET 

Copies of this notice, the original Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, the Initial Statement of 
Reasons, the original proposed text of the regulation, additional documents and 
information to the record, and the revisions to the proposed text of the regulations can be 
accessed via the Board website at: http://www.chrb.ca.gov/rules_law.asp. 

 

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 

June 22, 2020 
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CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4.  CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

ARTICLE 15.  VETERINARY PRACTICES 
RULE 1845.  AUTHORIZED BLEEDER MEDICATION 

 
 

 
1845.  Authorized Bleeder Medication. 

(a) The only authorized bleeder medication for the control of exercise-induced 

pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) shall be furosemide, and it shall only be administered by 

a single intravenous injection, in a dosage of not less than 150 mg and not more than 

500250 mg, on the grounds of the racetrack where the horse will race, and no later than 

four hours prior to the post time of the race for which the horse is entered.  It shall only 

be administered to a horse that is registered on the authorized bleeder medication list. 

(1) Furosemide is prohibited for two-year-olds entered to race as specified in Board 

Rule 1843.5(a). 

(ab) A horse is registered on the authorized bleeder medication list as follows: 

(1) The trainer and the owner’s veterinarian shall determine whether furosemide is 

medically necessary to control EIPH and is not otherwise contraindicated for that horse; 

and  

(2) Prior to entry for race, the official veterinarian approves form CHRB-194 (Rev. 

01/16), Authorized Bleeder Medication and Medical History Request, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, submitted to the official veterinarian by the trainer and owner’s 

veterinarian. 

(bc) Once registered, any horse that will be administered furosemide shall: 

(1) Arrive on the grounds of the racetrack where the horse will race no later than 

five hours prior to the post time of the race for which the horse is entered; and   



(2) Be assigned to a pre-race security stall prior to the scheduled post time for the 

race in which it is entered, and shall remain there until it is taken to the receiving barn or 

the paddock to be saddled or harnessed for the race.   

(A) The pre-race security stall shall be identified by the posting of a form CHRB-

234 (New 09/15), Detention Stall Sign, which is hereby incorporated by reference.  The 

trainer shall post the Detention Stall Sign no later than eight hours prior to the post time 

of the race for which the horse is entered or, for a horse arriving from off the grounds of 

the racetrack, when the horse is placed in the pre-race security stall.     

(B) While in the pre-race security stall, the horse shall be in the care, custody, 

control, and constant view of the trainer, or a licensed employee assigned by the trainer. 

The trainer shall be responsible for the condition, care and handling of the horse while it 

remains in the pre-race security stall. 

(C) The official veterinarian may permit a horse to leave the pre-race security stall 

to engage in track warm-up heats prior to a race. 

(cd) Furosemide shall be administered only after: 

(1) The trainer, owner, or the owner’s veterinarian has consulted with the 

furosemide veterinarian regarding the condition of the horse and the furosemide 

veterinarian has examined the horse sufficient to establish a veterinary-client-patient 

relationship within the meaning of California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 2032.1; 

or 

(2) The trainer, owner, or owner’s veterinarian has consulted with the official 

veterinarian or racing veterinarian and the furosemide veterinarian has examined the 

horse sufficient to establish a veterinary-client-patient relationship within the meaning of 



California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 2032.1, and that the consulting official 

veterinarian or racing veterinarian directly supervises the furosemide veterinarian, or 

California registered veterinary technician, who administers furosemide. 

(de) The person who administers furosemide pursuant to subsection (ef)(1) of this 

regulation shall notify the official veterinarian of the treatment of the horse. Such 

notification shall be made on form CHRB-36 (New 08/04), Bleeder Treatment Report, 

which is hereby incorporated by reference, not later than two hours prior to post time of 

the race for which the horse is entered.  

(1) The trainer or a licensed employee of the trainer shall be present and observe 

the furosemide administration. 

(ef) The horsemen’s organization, trainers’ organization, and racing association 

shall enter into an agreement to provide for race-day furosemide administration.  The 

agreement to provide for race-day furosemide administration shall be submitted to the 

Board in accordance with Rule 1433 of this Division.  The agreement shall describe the 

racing association’s program for the administration of race-day furosemide, the minimum 

level of staffing necessary to carry out the program, and the projected costs to horsemen 

for such administration.  

(1) Furosemide shall be administered by a furosemide veterinarian or California-

registered veterinary technician under the direct supervision of the furosemide 

veterinarian.  The furosemide veterinarian or California registered veterinary technician 

who provides race-day furosemide administration shall be employed by the racing 

association and shall not have a current business relationship, or prior veterinarian-client-

patient relationship, with participating licensees within 30 days of the date he or she is 



employed to administer furosemide. 

(2) All parties present during the administration of furosemide shall certify in writing 

that they have witnessed the furosemide administration by signing the form CHRB-36 

(New 08/04), Bleeder Treatment Report.  The furosemide veterinarian or California 

registered veterinary technician shall place the syringe used to administer furosemide in 

an evidence bag which will be sealed in front of the witnesses.  The witnesses shall sign 

the sealed evidence bag.  The syringe used to administer furosemide shall be provided 

to and securely stored by the Board in accordance with subsection (hi) of this regulation.      

(3) “Furosemide veterinarian” is defined as the veterinarian, licensed by the Board, 

and hired by the racing association to administer race-day furosemide to horses 

registered on the authorized bleeder medication list. 

(4) “Owner’s veterinarian” is defined as the veterinarian, licensed by the Board, 

and hired by the owner to provide veterinary care to horses.  

(fg) A horse registered to be administered furosemide shall receive 250 mg of 

furosemide intravenously unless an alternative dose of not less than 150 mg and not more 

than 500250 mg has been determined after consultation between the trainer, owner, or 

owner’s veterinarian, and the furosemide veterinarian pursuant to subsection (cd). 

(gh) In the event of an adverse reaction or other emergency related to the 

administration of furosemide, the furosemide veterinarian, or California registered 

veterinary technician, who administered furosemide shall attend the horse until the arrival 

of the owner’s veterinarian.  

(hi) The syringe used to administer furosemide shall be provided to and securely 

stored by the Board until all testing of the horse is completed.  In the event of a positive 



test finding as defined in this article, the Board may order, or the owner or trainer may 

request, the retained syringe be tested for prohibited substances.  The results of the test 

may be used in any action before the Board. 

(ij) A horse that has been administered furosemide must show a detectable 

concentration of the drug in post-race serum, plasma, or urine samples, as follows:  

(1) The official laboratory shall measure the specific gravity of post-race urine 

samples to ensure samples are sufficiently concentrated for proper chemical analysis.  

The specific gravity of such samples shall not be below 1.010. 

(2) If the specific gravity of the post-race urine sample is determined to be below 

1.010, or if the urine sample is not available for testing, quantitation of furosemide in 

serum or plasma shall then be performed.  Concentrations may not exceed 100 

nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of serum or plasma. 

(jk) A horse registered on the official authorized bleeder medication list must 

remain on the list unless the trainer or owner’s veterinarian requests the horse be 

removed. The request must be made using form CHRB-194 (Rev. 01/16), and must be 

submitted to the official veterinarian prior to the time of entry. A horse removed from the 

authorized bleeder medication list may not be placed back on the list for a period of 60 

calendar days unless the official veterinarian determines it is medically necessary for the 

horse. If a horse is removed from the authorized bleeder medication list a second time in 

a 365-day period, the horse may not be placed back on the list for a period of 90 calendar 

days. 

(kl) If the official veterinarian observes a horse bleeding externally from one or both 

nostrils during or after a race or workout, and determines such bleeding is a direct result 



of EIPH, the horse shall be ineligible to race for the following periods: 

• First incident -14 days; 

• Second incident within 365-day period -30 days; 

• Third incident within 365-day period -180 days; 

• Fourth incident within 365-day period -barred from racing lifetime. 

For the purposes of counting the number of days a horse is ineligible to run, the day after 

the horse bled externally is the first day of such period.  

(lm) The owner(s) of a registered horse shall:  

(1) Pay all costs associated with the materials used in the administration of 

furosemide, including the syringe and medication, and reasonable administrative costs 

as set under the race-day furosemide agreement entered into by the horsemen’s 

organization, trainers’ organization, and the racing association. 

(2) Consent to the procedures in this section and agree that the pre-race 

examination conducted under the direction of the official veterinarian or racing 

veterinarian shall constitute a veterinary-client-patient relationship within the meaning of 

California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 2032.1. 

 
Authority: Sections 19440 and 19562, 

Business and Professions Code. 
 
Reference: Sections 19580, 19581 and 19582, 

Business and Professions Code. 
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