CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
15-DAY NOTICE OF MODIFICATION TO THE TEXT OF THE PROPOSED
AMENDMENT OF RULE 1843.3, PENALTIES FOR MEDICATION VIOLATIONS, RULE
1843.5. MEDICATION, DRUGS AND OTHER SUBSTANCES PERMITTED AFTER
ENTRY IN A RACE, AND RULE 1844, AUTHORIZED MEDICATION

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 11346.8(c) and section 44 of
Title 1 of the California Code of Regulations, the California Horse Racing Board (Board)
is providing notice of changes that have been made to the text of the proposed addition
of Board Rule 1843.3, Penalties for Medication Violations, Rule 1843.5, Medication,
Drugs, and Other Substances Permitted After Entry in a Race, and Rule 1844,
Authorized Medication.

The Board is also providing notice that a document incorporated by reference is
available for public inspection and comment.

CHANGES TO THE PROPOSED TEXT

The originally proposed text was noticed to the public on January 3, 2020 and was
subject of a public hearing on February 20, 2020. The rulemaking was returned to the
Board for further discussion and amendments at the March 26, 2020 regular Board
meeting. The modifications reflected in this Notice are in response to recommendations
made by stakeholders and Board members.

A copy of the full text of the regulations with the proposed changes indicated is attached

for your review. Additions to the originally proposed text appear in double underlined text
and deletions are shown in degble strikethrough.

§ Rule 1843.5, Medication, Drugs, and Other Substances Permitted After Entry in a Race

Proposed section (a) has been modified to reflect the original, pre-emergency
amendment language following concerns from stakeholders objecting to some of the
changes implemented. An emergency regulation that went into effect on February 26,
2020 amended subsection (a) and modified the definition of “entered to race” from 48
hours prior to post time to midnight the day entries are closed. In California, some
entries to race close as far as 5 days before a race, so there were concerns from
horsemen that the new amendment prohibited them from administering feed
supplements, electrolytes, and other medications or substances up to 5 days before the
race.

Proposed subsection (g) has been stricken as it previously indicated only one
corticosteroid was authorized, but the Board has indicated they want no corticosteroids
and are moving towards medication-free racing. As a result, the Board decided to strike
subsection (g) and all subsequent letters have been modified accordingly.



WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested person may submit a written statement relating to the modified language
during the public comment period from March 27, 2020 to April 11, 2020. All written
comments must be submitted to the CHRB no later than 5:00 p.m. on April 11, 2020.
The Board will only consider comments received at the Board’s office by that time.
Submit written comments to:

Zachary Voss, Policy and Regulations Analyst
California Horse Racing Board
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95825
Email: zavoss@chrb.ca.gov

All written comments received by April 11, 2020, which pertain to the indicated text
changes will be reviewed and responded to by the Board’s staff as part of the completion
of the rulemaking file. Please limit your comments to the modifications to the text and
form incorporated by reference. Text proposed to be added to the rulemaking in this
comment period is displayed in double underline and proposed deletions to the
rulemaking in this comment period is displayed in deuble-si# ikethrough.

Questions concerning the proposed amendments may be addressed to Zachary Voss at
(916) 263-6036, emailed to zavoss@chrb.ca.gov, or mailed to the address above. If
Zachary Voss is not available, questions concerning the proposed amendment may be
directed to Amanda Drummond, Policy and Regulations Manager, at (916) 263-6033 or
amdrummond@chrb.ca.gov.

AVAILABILITY OF RULEMAKING DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET

Copies of this notice, the original Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, the Initial Statement
of Reasons, the original proposed text of the regulations, additional documents and
information to the record, and the revisions to the proposed text of the regulations can
be accessed via the CHRB website at: http://www.chrb.ca.gov/rules law.asp.

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
March 27, 2020
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CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
TITLE 4., CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
ARTICLE 15. VETERINARY PRACTICES
PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF
RULE 1843.3. PENALTIES FOR MEDICATION VIOLATIONS
1843.3. Penalties for Medication Violations.

(a) In reaching a decision on a penalty for a violation of Business and Professions Code
section 19581, the Board, the board of stewards, the hearing officer or the administrative law
judge shall consider the penalties set forth in subsections (d) and (e) of this Rule and any
aggravating and mitigating circumstances. Deviation from these penalties is appropriate where
the facts of the particular case warrant such a deviation, for example: there may be mitigating
circumstances for which a lesser or no penalty is appropriate, and aggravating factors for which
a greater penalty is appropriate.

(b) Mitigating circumstances and aggravating factors, which must be considered, include
but are not limited to:

(1) The past record of the licensee regarding violations of Business and Professions Code
section 19581;

(2) The potential of the drug(s) to influence a horse’s racing performance and the amount
of the drug present;

(3) The legal availability of the drug and whether the drug was prescribed to the horse by
a California Horse Racing Board (CHRB) licensed veterinarian;

(4) Whether there is reason to believe the responsible party knew of the administration of
the drug or intentionally administered the drug;

(5) The steps taken by the trainer to safeguard the horse;

(6) The steps taken by an owner to safeguard against subsequent medication violations

including, but not limited to, the transfer of the horse(s) to an unaffiliated trainer;

(A) “Unaffiliated trainer” means a trainer or an assistant trainer who is not related by blood,



marriage or domestic partnership, or who is not or was never employed by the trainer from whose
care such horse(s) were transferred.

(7) The probability of environmental contamination or inadvertent exposure due to human
drug use or other factors;

(8) The purse of the race;

(9) Whether the drug found to be present in the official test sample was one for which the
horse was receiving treatment as determined and documented through the process described in
Rule 1842 of this division;

(10) Whether there was any suspicious wagering pattern on the race;

(11) Whether the licensed trainer was acting under the advice of a CHRB licensed
veterinarian.

(c) The Board shall consider the classification of a drug substance as referred to in Rule
1843.2 of this division and the California Horse Racing Board (CHRB) Penalty Categories Listing
by Classification, (Revised 4/15), which is hereby incorporated by reference, if a determination is
made that an official test sample from a horse contained:

(1) Any drug substance, medication, metabolites or analogues thereof foreign to the horse,
whose use is not expressly authorized in this division, or

(2) Any drug substance, medication or chemical authorized by this article in excess of the
authorized level or other restrictions as set forth in the article.

(d) Penalties for violation of each classification level are as follows:



CATEGORY “A” PENALTIES

Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which
CHRB drug classification is categorized as warranting a Category A penalty are as follows:

LICENSED TRAINER:

15t offense

2" LIFETIME offense

3" LIFETIME offense

o Minimum one - year
suspension absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum of
a three-year suspension.

AND

o Minimum fine of $10,000 or
10% of gross purse (greater of
the two) absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum
fine of $25,000 or 25% of purse
(greater of the two).

AND

> May be referred to the Board
for any further action deemed
necessary by the Board.

o Minimum two-year
suspension absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum of
a three-year suspension.

AND

o Minimum fine of $20,000 or
25% of gross purse (greater of
the two) absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum
fine of $50,000 or 50% of
purse (greater of the two).
AND

> May be referred to the
Board for any further action
deemed necessary by the
Board.

o Minimum three-year
suspension absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum of
permanent license revocation.
AND

o Minimum fine of $25,000 or
50% of gross purse (greater of
the two) absent mitigating
circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum of
$100,000 or 100% of purse
(greater of the two).

AND

> May be referred to the Board
for any further action deemed
necessary by the Board.

LICENSED OWNER:

15t offense

2" LIFETIME offense in
owner’s stable

3" LIFETIME offense in
owner’s stable

o Disqualification of horse and
loss of purse.
AND

Horse may be placed on the
veterinarian’s list for up to 90
days and must pass a Board -

to Rule 1846 before becoming
eligible to be entered.

AND

> Be subject to drug testing at
the owner’s expense and be
negative for prohibited drug
substances as defined in Rule
1843.1.

approved examination pursuant

o Disqualification of horse
and loss of purse.
AND

o Horse shall be placed on
the veterinarian’s list for up to
120 days and must pass a
Board - approved examination
pursuant to Rule 1846 before
becoming eligible to be
entered.

AND

> Be subject to drug testing at
the owner’s expense and be
negative for prohibited drug
substances as defined in Rule
1843.1.

o Disqualification of horse, loss
of purse and absent mitigating
circumstances, minimum fine of
$10,000. The presence of
aggravating factors could be
used to impose a maximum fine
of $50,000.

AND

o Horse shall be placed on the
veterinarian’s list for up to 180
days and must pass a Board-
approved examination pursuant
to Rule 1846 before becoming
eligible to be entered.

AND

> Be subject to drug testing at
the owner’s expense and be
negative for prohibited drug
substances as defined in Rule
1843.1.

AND

o Referral to the Board with a
recommendation of a
suspension of owners license
for a minimum of 90 days.




CATEGORY “B” PENALTIES

Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which
CHRB drug classification is categorized as warranting a Category B penalty are as follows:

LICENSED TRAINER:

1st offense 2" offense (within two year 3 offense (within five year time
time period) period)

o Minimum 30 -day o Minimum 60-day suspension | © Minimum 90-day suspension

suspension absent mitigating absent mitigating absent mitigating circumstances.

circumstances. The presence circumstances. The presence The presence of aggravating
of aggravating factors could be | of aggravating factors could be | factors could be used to impose a
used to impose a maximum of | used to impose a maximum of | maximum of a one-year

a 60-day suspension. a 180-day suspension. suspension.

AND/OR AND/OR AND/OR

o Minimum fine of $500 > Minimum fine of $1,000 o Minimum fine of $2,500 absent
absent mitigating absent mitigating mitigating circumstances. The

circumstances. The presence circumstances. The presence presence of aggravating factors
of aggravating factors could be | of aggravating factors could be | could be used to impose a

used to impose a maximum used to impose a maximum maximum fine of $50,000 or 10%
fine of $10,000. fine of $20,000. of purse (greater of the two).
AND

o May be referred to the Board for
any further action deemed
necessary by the Board.

LICENSED OWNER:

1st offense 2" offense in stable (within 3 offense in stable (within five
two year time period) year time period)

o Disqualification of horse and | - Disqualification of horse and | - Disqualification of horse, loss of

loss of purse. loss of purse. purse and absent mitigating

AND AND circumstances minimum fine of

$5,000. The presence of
aggravating factors could be used
to impose a maximum fine of
$20,000.

AND

o Horse must pass a Board- o Horse must pass a Board- o Horse shall be placed on the
approved examination pursuant | approved examination pursuant | veterinarian’s list for up to 45 days
to Rule 1846 before becoming | to Rule 1846 before becoming | and must pass a Board-approved

eligible to be entered. eligible to be entered. examination pursuant to Rule
1846 before becoming eligible to

AND AND be entered.

> Be subject to drug testing at > Be subject to drug testing at AND

the owner’s expense and be the owner’s expense and be

negative for prohibited drug negative for prohibited drug > Be subject to drug testing at the

substances as defined in Rule | substances as defined in Rule | owner’s expense and be negative

1843.1. 1843.1. for prohibited drug substances as

defined in Rule 1843.1.




CATEGORY “B” PENALTIES FOR RULE 1843.6 TOTAL CARBON DIOXIDE (TCO2)

TESTING

Penalties for violations due to exceeding permitted levels of TCO2 as defined in Rule 1843.6 are

LICENSED TRAINER:

1st offense TCO: (> 37.0 mml/I-
<39 mml/l)

2" offense TCO2 ( > 37.0 mml/I-<39
mml/l)

3" offense TCO (> 37.0 mml/I-<39
mml/l)

> Up to a 30-day suspension
absent mitigating circumstances.
The presence of aggravating
factors could be used to impose a
maximum of a 60-day
suspension.

AND/OR

o Minimum fine of $1,500 absent
mitigating circumstances. The
presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a
maximum fine of $5,000.

> Minimum 60-day suspension absent
mitigating circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be used to
impose a maximum of a 120-day
suspension.

AND/OR

> Minimum fine of $2,500 absent
mitigating circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be used to
impose a maximum fine of $10,000.

o Minimum 90-day suspension
absent mitigating circumstances.
The presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a maximum
of a 180-day suspension.

AND/OR

> Minimum fine of $5,000 absent
mitigating circumstances. The
presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a maximum
fine of

$15,000.

LICENSED OWNER:

1t offense TCO (> 37.0 mml/I-
<39mml/l)

2" offense TCO, (> 37.0 mml/I-<39
mml/l)

3 offense TCO, (> 37.0 mml/I-<39
mml/l)

> Disqualification of horse and
loss of purse.

> Disqualification of horse and loss of
purse.

> Disqualification of horse, loss of
purse and in the absence of
mitigating circumstances, $2,500
fine.

LICENSED TRAINER:

1st offense TCO, (= 39.0 mml/l)

2" offense TCO, (2 39.0 mml/l)

3" offense TCO2 (= 39.0 mml/l)

o Minimum 30-day suspension
absent mitigating circumstances.
The presence of aggravating
factors could be used to impose a
maximum of a 60-day
suspension.

AND/OR

o Minimum fine of $2,500 absent
mitigating circumstances. The
presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a
maximum fine of $10,000.

o Minimum 60-day suspension absent
mitigating circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be used to
impose a maximum of a 180-day
suspension.

AND/OR

> Minimum fine of $5,000 absent
mitigating circumstances. The presence
of aggravating factors could be used to
impose a maximum fine of $15,000.

o Minimum 90-day suspension
absent mitigating circumstances.
The presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a maximum
of a 365-day suspension.

AND/OR

o Minimum fine of $10,000 absent
mitigating circumstances. The
presence of aggravating factors
could be used to impose a maximum
fine of $25,000.

LICENSED OWNER:

1t offense TCO, (2 39.0 mml/l)

2" offense TCO, (= 39.0 mml/l)

3 offense TCO: (= 39.0 mml/l)

> Disqualification of horse and
loss of purse.

o Disqualification of horse and loss of
purse.

o Disqualification of horse, loss of
purse and a fine ranging from a
minimum of $5,000, up to a
maximum of $20,000.

as set forth below. All concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma.




CATEGORY “C” PENALTIES

Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which
CHRB drug classification is categorlzed as warrantlng a Category C penalty and—fepthe—presenee

m—Rque—1844—ef—tms—d+wsren— and furosemlde as deflned in Rule 1845 of thls dIVISIOI‘l |n an off|C|aI
test sample are as set forth below. All concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma.

LICENSED TRAINER:

1t offense 2" offense (within 365-day period) | 3" offense (within 365-day
period)

o Minimum fine of $500toa | ° Minimum fine of $1,000 to a o Minimum fine of $2,500 and

maximum fine of $1,000 maximum fine of $2,500, and up to a | up to a 30 - day suspension

absent mitigating 15 - day suspension absent absent mitigating

circumstances. mitigating circumstances. circumstances

Penalties for a fourth violation within a 365-day period shall require a minimum 15-day suspension
and $2500 fine. Penalties for any subsequent violation within a 365-day period shall require a
greater suspension and fine than the penalty imposed for the previous violation.

[13 L2




LICENSED TRAINER: Phenylbutazone (2-1-<5.0-meg/mi} Phenylbutazone (2-1-<5.0-meg/mi}
Flunixin {20-<100 ngimi) Flunixin {20-<100 ng/mi)
Ketoprofen (2 -< 50 ng/ml) Ketoprofen (2 -< 50 ng/ml})

1°t offense 2" offense {within 365-day period) 3" offense (within 365-day period)

Mini 7 F$500 Mini 7 £$1.00C v ﬁ £$2 500

LICENSED OWNER: Phenylbutazone (2.1-<56:0-meg/ml)} | Phenylbutazone(2.1-<5.0-meg/mi)
Flunixin {20-<100 ng/mi) Flunixin {20-<100 ng/mi)
Ketoprofen {2 -<-50-ng/ml) Ketoprofen {2 -<-50-ng/ml)

1°t offense 2" offense {within 365-day period) 3" offense (within 365-day period)

LICENSED TRAINER: Phenylbutazone (2 5.0-mecg/ml} Phenylbutazone {2 5.0-mecg/ml}
Flunixin-(2100-ng/ml) Flunixin-(2100-ng/ml)
Ketoprofen-(=50-ng/ml) Ketoprofen-(=50-ng/ml)

1 offense 2"-offense(within 365-day period) | 3"-offense(within365-day period)

Mini 7 F$1.000 Mini 7 £$2 500 v ﬁ £$5.00C
$2.500.

LICENSED-OWNER: Phenylbutazone (2 5.0-mecg/ml} Phenylbutazone (2 5.0-mecg/ml}
Flunixin (2 100 ng/ml) Flunixin (2 100 ng/ml)
Ketoprofen (2 50 ng/ml) Ketoprofen (= 50 ng/ml)

1 off ond o - 3w — -

5 5 I E_ellenll_sﬁ_e (u_utlm;laﬁﬁ day 'IEIE”EE”F E.EHE"I.SFE ('.“u'"; IEEE day |g| eriod)
pursuant to Rule 1846 vternanan s listior up 1o 45-days fine I.I Same |IG.ISE placed e','
veiore-being-eligible-to-ran | must pass Board-approved votornarian-s list-for-60 elays_ Fdst

examination purstantto I :H. le-1846 pass-Board-approved examination
before-being-eligible-to-run EIE."S.IHIa“t to] "_Hle +846-before-being

(e) Violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which
CHRB drug classification is categorized as warranting a Category “D” penalty, may result in a

written warning to the licensed trainer and owner.




CATEGORY “D” PENALTIES

13t offense (within 365-day
period)

2" offense (within 365-day
period)

3" offense (within 365-day
period)

Minimum of an official written
warning to a maximum fine of

Minimum of a $250 fine to a
maximum fine of $500.

Minimum of a $500 fine to a
maximum fine of $750.

$250.

(f) If a licensee has received a penalty for a Class A, B or C medication violation, and within
a 365-day period has a subsequent lesser violation (e.g. an A violation followed by a B violation),
the earlier violation shall count as a “prior violation” for the purposes of determining the penalty
for the subsequent lesser violation.

(g) If a licensee has received a penalty for a Class B, C or D medication violation, and
within a 365-day period has a subsequent greater violation (e.g. a D violation followed by a C
violation), the earlier violation shall count as an aggravating factor for the purposes of determining
the penalty for the subsequent greater violation.

(h) Any drug or its metabolite or analogue thereof found to be present in an official test
sample that is not classified in Rule 1843.2 of this division shall be classified as a Class 1
substance and a Category “A” penalty until classified by the Board.

(i) The administration of a drug substance to a race horse must be documented by the
treating veterinarian through the process described in Rule 1842 of this division.

() Any licensee found to be responsible for the administration of any drug substance
resulting in a positive test may be subject to the same penalties set forth for the licensed trainer
and his presence may be required at any and all hearings relative to the case.

(1) Any veterinarian found to be involved in the administration of any drug substance
resulting in a positive test in Penalty Category “A” shall be referred to the California Veterinary
Medical Board (CVMB) for consideration of further disciplinary action.

(2) Any veterinarian found to be involved in the administration of any drug substance

resulting in a positive test in Penalty Category “B” or “C” may be referred to the CVMB for



consideration of further disciplinary action upon the recommendation of the Equine Medical
Director, the board of stewards or hearing officers.

(k) A licensee who is suspended because of a medication violation is not able to benefit
financially during the period of suspension. This includes, but is not limited to, ensuring that horses
are not transferred to licensed family members or, for any licensee whose suspension is for more
than 30 days, to any other licensee who has been an employee of the suspended licensee within
the previous year.

(1) A licensee whose license is revoked because of a medication violation is not able to
benefit financially following the revocation of his or her license. This includes, but is not limited to,
ensuring that horses are not transferred to licensed family members or to any other licensee who
has been an employee of the licensee whose license is revoked within the previous year.

(1) “Licensed family members” means any person who holds an occupational license issued
by the CHRB and who is related to the suspended licensee, or the licensee whose license is
revoked, by blood, or by marriage or domestic partnership, or who is related by blood to the
spouse or domestic partner of such licensee.

(1) Licensed trainers suspended 60 days or more shall be banned from all inclosures
under the jurisdiction of the CHRB. In addition, during the period of suspension, such trainer shall
forfeit all assigned stall space and shall remove from the inclosures all signage, colors,
advertisements, training-related equipment, tack, office equipment, and any other property.

(2) A trainer whose license is revoked shall be banned from all inclosures under the
jurisdiction of the CHRB. In addition, such trainer shall forfeit all assigned stall space and shall
remove from the inclosures all sighage, colors, advertisements, training-related equipment, tack,
office equipment, and any other property.

Authority:  Sections 19440, 19461 and 19580,
Business and Professions Code.

Reference: Sections 19461, 19580, 19581 and 19582,
Business and Professions Code; and
Section 11425.50, Government Code.



CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
TITLE 4., CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
ARTICLE 15. VETERINARY PRACTICES
PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF
RULE 1843.5. MEDICATION, DRUGS AND OTHER SUBSTANCES PERMITTED
AFTER ENTRY IN A RACE

1843.5. Medication, Drugs and Other Substances Permitted After Entry in a Race.

(a) In this rule-article a horse is deemed "entered" in a race 48-hours-before-post

------ idnight-the-day-entries-closeforthe-race-48 hours

before post time of the running of the race.
(b) Water, and-feed-including hay, and grain,—and-feed-supplements-that-donet
contain-prohibited-drugs may be provided to the horse up until post time.

(c) Drugs, medications or any other substances shall not be administered by any

means to a horse after it is deemed enter to race within-48-hours-ofthe posttime-ofthe
race-in-which-the-horse-is-entered except:

(1) Topical medications, (such as antiseptics, ointments, salves, leg rubs, leg
paints, hoof dressings, liniments and antiphlogistics) which do not contain anesthetics or
other prohibited drugs.

(d) Any drug, medication or any other substance found in a test sample taken from
a horse which is not authorized under this rule shall be deemed a prohibited drug
substance.

(e) Any of the following substances may be administered by injection until 24 hours
before the post time of the race in which the horse is entered:

(1) Injectable Vitamins;



3) Amino-Acid-Solutions:
4)(2) Tetanus Antitoxin or Tetanus Toxoid, if the horse has sustained a wound.
(f) Approved anti-ulcer medications may be administered until 24 hours before the

post time of the race in which the horse is entered. A list of approved anti-ulcer

medications, and route of administration, shall be posted at each racetrack in the office

of the official veterinarian.

(gk) In addition to the substances named in subsection (c)(1), any of the following

substances may be administered under Rule 1845 of this division within 24 hours of the
post time of the race in which the horse is entered:

(1) Furosemide;

2} Other Authorized Bleeder Medication.

(2) Only water may be used to wash the horse’s mouth on race day.

(hi) Drugs, medications or any other substances may not be administered to a
horse by injection, via nasogastric tube (stomach tubing) or any other means after the

horse is entered to race, except under these regulations.



CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
TITLE 4., CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
ARTICLE 15. VETERINARY PRACTICES
PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF
RULE 1844. AUTHORIZED MEDICATION

1844. Authorized Medication.

Consistent with the intent of these rules, drug substances and medications authorized
by the Board for use may be administered to safeguard the health of the horse entered
to race provided that:

(a) No person shall administer a drug substance to any horse entered to race except
upon authorization of the official veterinarian in conformance with these rules.

(b) No drug substance, other than authorized bleeder medication, shall be administered

to a horse entered to race within 24 hours of the race in which entered.




tec) Official urine test samples may contain one of the following drug substances, their

metabolites and analogs, in an amount that does not exceed the specified levels:

(1) Acepromazine; 10 nanograms per milliliter

(2) Mepivacaine; 10 nanograms per milliliter

(3) Albuterol; 1 nanograms per milliliter

(4) Procaine; 25 nanograms per milliliter

(5) Salicylates; 750 micrograms per milliliter

(6) Detomidine; 2 nanograms per milliliter

(7) Nandrolone; 1 nanograms per milliliter for geldings, fillies and mares; 45 nanograms
for males other than geldings.

(8) Boldenone; 15 nanograms per milliliter in males other than geldings.

(9) Testosterone; 20 nanograms per milliliter in geldings.

(A) Testosterone at any level in males other than geldings is not a violation of this
regulation.

(10) Testosterone; 55 nanograms per milliliter in fillies or mares (unless in foal)



(11) Butorphanol 300 nanograms per milliliter

(fd) Official blood test samples may contain the following drug substances, their
metabolites and analogs, in an amount that does not exceed the specified levels in serum
or plasma:

1) Bet I . 10.pi il

(12) Dantrolene; 100 picograms per milliliter

(23) Detomidine; 1 nanogram per milliliter

4) I . 5 5 il
5) Diclof .5 il

(36) Dimethylsulfoxide (DMSQO); 10 micrograms per milliliter
7} Fi ib: 2 il

(48) Lidocaine; 20 picograms per milliliter

(89) Methocarbamol; 1 nanogram per milliliter

10) Methylprednisolone:100-pi il

(644) Glycopyrrolate; 3 picograms per milliliter

12} Prednisolone: 1 il

13} T inol : ide: 100.pi il
(744) Xylazine; 200 picograms per milliliter

(845) Butorphanol; 2 nanograms per milliliter

16} 4sof lone: 100 pi il

(947) Cetirizine; 6 nanograms per milliliter

(1048) Cimetidine; 400 nanograms per milliliter

(1149) Guaifenesin; 12 nanograms per milliliter



(1220) Omeprazole; 10 nanograms per milliliter

(1324) Ranitidine; 40 nanograms per milliliter

(eg) Official blood test samples shall not contain any of the drug substances, or their
metabolites or analogs listed in subsection (ec)(1) to (5) and (ec)(7) to (10).

(fr) Procaine, following administration of procaine penicillin, is an authorized medication
provided:

(1) Official blood test samples shall not contain any procaine, or its metabolites or
analogs in excess of 25 nanograms per milliliter.

(2) all procaine penicillin administrations have been reported pursuant to Rule 1842 of
this division,

(3) procaine penicillin was not administered after entry to race,

(4) the horse was under surveillance for a minimum of six hours prior to racing.

(ah) All expenses related to surveillance and testing for procaine under subsection (h)
of this regulation shall be paid by the owner of the horse.
Authority: Sections 19440 and 19562,

Business and Professions Code.

Reference: Sections 19580 and 19581,
Business and Professions Code.
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