
   CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

ARTICLE 4. OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES 
PROPOSED ADDITION OF 

1503.5. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR TRAINERS AND ASSISTANT TRAINERS 
 
 

1503.5. Continuing Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers 

(a) Commencing June 1, 2021, an applicant for renewal of license as trainer or 

assistant trainer shall certify that during the preceding 36-month period, he or she has 

completed a total of 12 hours of approved continuing education (ACE) coursework. 

(1) Certification of completion of ACE coursework shall be provided on the form 

CHRB-59a Certification of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Coursework (New 

09/19), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  The CHRB-59a shall be submitted 

with the application for renewal of license.  

(b) Licensees shall maintain evidence of completed ACE coursework for a period 

of four years from the date the course was completed and shall provide such records of 

completion to the Board upon request.  Records of completed ACE coursework may be 

in a form provided by an ACE course, meeting or conference, or shall otherwise be 

recorded on the form CHRB-242 Continuing Education Certificate of Attendance (New 

9/19), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  The CHRB-242 shall be available at all 

CHRB offices and on the Board’s website.  Any record of completed ACE coursework 

shall state at least: 

(1) The title of the ACE course, meeting or conference; 

(2) The date, location and provider of the ACE course, meeting or conference; 

(3) The number of continuing education hours earned.  

(c) Unless a waiver is granted under subsection (e) of this regulation, an 



application for license renewal will be denied if form CHRB-59a is not submitted and/or 

for failure to produce records of completed ACE coursework should such records be 

requested by the Board at the time of renewal. 

(d) The stewards shall fine and/or suspend or revoke the license of any applicant 

for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer who is found to have provided false 

certification of completed ACE coursework or who fails to produce records of completed 

ACE coursework upon the Board’s request.   

(e) The stewards shall waive the ACE requirements for applicants for renewal of 

license as trainer or assistant trainer if the trainer or assistant trainer is not domiciled in 

California and has had twelve or fewer starts in races in California during the previous 36-

month period.  Stakes races shall not be counted in the number of starts. 

(1) Requests for ACE waivers shall be submitted to the Board of Stewards at the 

time of application for renewal of license on the form CHRB-59b Request for Waiver of 

Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Requirements (New 09/19), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference.  

 (2) The ACE requirements may be waived at the time of application for good cause 

conditioned upon the completion of the ACE requirements within a timeframe not to 

exceed 12 months from the date of renewal of license. 

(A) “Good cause” includes but is not limited to a change in the licensee’s state of 

domicile or not having acted as a trainer or assistant trainer for an extended period. 

 (3) A waiver for good cause shall be made using a recommendation card form 

CHRB-59 (Rev. 12/15), which shall be signed by the stewards. 

(4) Denial of a waiver will result in the applicant being ineligible for renewal of 



license until he or she has completed the requirements of subsection (a) of this regulation.  

(f) The Equine Medical Director (EMD), in consultation with the California 

Thoroughbred Trainers, shall submit proposed ACE curriculum to the Board for approval.  

(1) Subsequent to the presentation required under subsection (f), the EMD may 

modify the Board approved ACE course list to: 

(A) add new coursework offerings, or 

(B) remove discontinued coursework.  

(2)  A current listing of Board approved ACE courses shall be available at all CHRB 

offices and on the Board’s website.  The list shall include the hours credited to each ACE 

course. 

(A) The hours credited to an ACE course shall be assigned by the EMD, and shall 

be determined by factors including, but not limited to, difficulty of subject matter, expected 

learning outcomes and the actual time necessary to complete the ACE course.  

 (3) If a licensee has completed ACE coursework, and the course is subsequently 

removed from the listing of Board approved ACE courses, the ACE course completed by 

the licensee will satisfy the requirements under subsection (a) of this regulation.   

(g) For the purposes of this regulation, ACE coursework means instruction 

intended to foster competence and knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically 

promotes: compliance with California’s horse racing law and regulations; equine health, 

safety, and welfare in racing; or ethics, human resource training, and the promotion of 

human safety and welfare. 

 
 
Authority:  Sections 19420, 19440, 19460 and 19520, 
  Business and Professions Code. 



Reference: Sections 19420 and 19440, 
  Business and Professions Code. 



State of California 
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD                                                                             CHRB License Number:______________________________ 
CHRB-59a (New-01/20) 

CERTIFICATION OF APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION (ACE) COURSEWORK 
 

I______________________________, certify that I have completed _____hours of ACE  
                (NAME) 
Coursework during the period of _____________ through_________________. 
                                                                   (DATE)                                                 (DATE) 
Per Rule 1503.5, applicants shall maintain records of completed ACE coursework for a period of four years from the date of completion, and 
shall provide such records to the Board upon request.   

 
I hereby make application for license to be issued in accordance with the terms and provisions of the Rules and Regulations of the California 
Horse Racing Board.  I certify under penalty of perjury that the statements and answers I have made in this application are true and correct. 
 
___________________________                 _____________________________________ 
                      (DATE)                                                                                                       (SIGNATURE) 
INFORMATION PROVIDED ABOVE IS PUBLIC PURSUANT TO THE CALIFORNIA PUBLIC RECORDS ACT (Government Code section 6250 et seq.)  

 
 

 

 

 



State of California 
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD                                                                          CHRB License Number:_____________________ 
CHRB-59b (New-01/20) 

REQUEST FOR WAIVER OF APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION (ACE) REQUIREMENTS 
 

I______________________________, certify that I am a resident of  __________________ , 
                (NAME)                                                                                                                                             (CITY/STATE) 
And have had twelve or fewer starts in California for the period of _____________ 
through______________. 
 
List all starts in California over the previous 36-month period on the reverse of this form.  Per Rule 1503.5, stakes races are not counted in the 
number of starts.   
 
I hereby make application for license to be issued in accordance with the terms and provisions of the Rules and Regulations of the California 
Horse Racing Board.  I certify under penalty of perjury that the statements and answers I have made in this application are true and correct. 
 
___________________________                 _____________________________________ 
                      (DATE)                                                                                                       (SIGNATURE) 
INFORMATION PROVIDED ABOVE IS PUBLIC PURSUANT TO THE CALIFORNIA PUBLIC RECORDS ACT (Government Code section 6250 et seq.)  

 
 

 

List all California starts, including track & date, over the previous 36-months.  Do NOT list stakes races. 
    1.  ____________________________________     7.  ____________________________________ 

    2.  ____________________________________     8.  ____________________________________ 

    3.  ____________________________________     9.  ____________________________________ 

    4.  ____________________________________   10.  ____________________________________ 

    5.  ____________________________________   11.  ____________________________________ 

    6.  ____________________________________   12.  ____________________________________ 

    Approve: _______  Disapprove:________   ____________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                                          (Steward’s Signature and Date) 
I hereby make application for license to be issued in accordance with the terms and provisions of the Rules and Regulations of the California 
Horse Racing Board.  I certify under penalty of perjury that the statements and answers I have made in this application are true and correct. 
  INFORMATION PROVIDED ABOVE IS PUBLIC PURSUANT TO THE CALIFORNIA PUBLIC RECORDS ACT (Government Code section 6250 et seq.)               

 



State of California 
California Horse Racing Board 
CHRB-242 (New 01/20) 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CERTIFICATE OF 
ATTENDANCE 

 
Meeting/Conference Title: _________________________________________ 
 
Date: _________________ Location: _________________________________ 
 
Provider: _______________________________________________________ 
 
Presentation/Topic: ______________________________________________ 
 
Program Speaker(s) (If any): ________________________________________ 
 
Name of Licensee (Print): __________________________________________ 
 
CHRB License Number: ____________________________________________ 
 
 
I certify that I attended the approved continuing education (ACE) coursework 
described above for a total of ___ continuing education hour(s). 
 
 
 
Signature: __________________________________ Date: _________________ 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Per Rule 1503.5, Continuing Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers, licensees shall maintain records of 
completed ACE coursework for a period of four years from the date the course was completed and shall provide such 
records to the Board upon request.  Individual licensees are responsible for the completeness and accuracy of their 
own ACE records.  By signing this form you are certifying under penalty of perjury that the statements and answers 
you have made on this form are true and correct. 


