
INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
RULE 1503.5. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR TRAINERS AND ASSISTANT 
TRAINERS 
 
SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THE REGULATION 
 
The California Horse Racing Board (Board) proposes to add Board Rule 1503.5, 
Continuing Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers.  The proposed regulation 
provides that commencing June 1, 2021, applicants for renewal of license as trainer or 
assistant trainer shall certify that during the preceding 36-month period they completed a 
total of 12 hours of Board approved continuing education (ACE) coursework.  Licensees 
are required to maintain records of completed course work for a period of four years from 
the date the courses were completed and shall provide such records to the Board upon 
request.  The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for good cause predicated on 
the completion of ACE course work within 12 months of the date of renewal of license, or 
for applicants who are not domiciled in California, and who have had twelve or fewer 
starts in California, other than stakes races, during the previous 36-months.  The 
proposed regulation defines trainers’ continuing education as instruction intended to 
foster competence and knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes 
compliance with California’s horse racing law and regulations; equine health, safety, and 
welfare in racing, and the promotion of human safety and welfare. 
    
PROBLEM 
 
Trainers’ and assistant trainers’ professional duties involve considerable responsibility, 
complexity and variety.   They decide the day-to-day preparations needed to train a horse 
to run in a race.  They manage the care, feeding and grooming regimen of the horse, as 
well as the horse’s exercise and rest.  In addition, trainers in large part make decisions 
regarding the medications and physical therapy treatments their horses receive.  Ideally, 
trainers and assistant trainers work to run stables that are efficient, cost effective and 
successful, and they hire and train employees in the best practices.  All of this requires 
that trainers and assistant trainers must be informed about such issues as changing 
theories in training methods, discoveries regarding the physiological effects of exercise, 
or research regarding medications and its effects on the horses in their care.  They must 
also be aware of issues involving stable management and their employees.  The Board 
requires first time applicants for license as trainer or assistant trainer to pass written, oral 
and practical examinations prior to issuance of a license.  However, to renew a license 
as trainer or assistant trainer, an applicant is only required to submit a completed 
application and pay the prescribed fee.  The Board currently does not ask trainers or 
assistant trainers who apply to renew a license to demonstrate that they have taken any 
actions to improve their level of horsemanship, or if they have kept abreast of equine 
medication, health and safety issues, or management and human resource topics.  To 
ensure California’s trainers and assistant trainers are familiar and current with issues 
affecting their profession, the Board proposes to add Board Rule 1503.5, Continuing 
Education for Trainers and Assistant Trainers. 



NECESSITY 
 
Subsection 1503.5(a) provides that commencing June 1, 2021, an applicant for renewal 
of licenses as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the preceding 36-month 
period, he or she has completed a total of 12 hours of Board approved ACE course work. 
Continuing education for trainers is a new concept and the Board has determined that 12 
hours of continuing education credit over a 3-year period, or four hours per year, was 
sufficient for the trainers to meet renewal requirements and further knowledge. This 
determination was based off the Association of Racing Commissioners International 
(ARCI) Model Rules, section ARCI-008-020 (A)(4) which states, “Beginning no later than 
January 31, 2012, in order to maintain a current license, trainers must complete at least 
four (4) hours per calendar year of continuing education courses approved by the ARCI 
or the commission in that jurisdiction.” If more hours are indicated in the future, the Board 
could make adjustments after they evaluate effectiveness of the continuing education 
requirements.  
 
The date at which applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer must 
begin providing evidence of ACE course work has been set at June 1, 2021.  The Board 
has determined it is necessary to provide a reasonable amount of time between the 
anticipated effective date of the proposed regulation (mid 2020) and the date renewal of 
license as trainer or assistant trainer will require ACE course work, so that they may be 
able to timely complete the course work without significant disruption to their usual 
schedules. 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 requires applicants for renewal of license as 
trainer or assistant trainer to demonstrate completion of at least 12 hours of Board 
approved ACE course work during the previous 36 months.  Subsection 1503.5(a)(1) 
provides that the applicant shall provide such certification by submitting a completed form 
CHRB-59a Certification of Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Coursework (New 
01/20) (CHRB-59a).  The form shall be submitted with the licensee’s application for 
renewal of license.  The CHRB-59a requires the licensee to submit their current license 
number, to allow Board staff to identify the owner of the form with the license, should the 
two forms ever be separated, which will allow for researching and audits of licensing files 
in the future to ensure compliance. The CHRB-59a records how many hours of ACE 
coursework the applicant completed, as well as the period during which the coursework 
occurred. Additionally, the CHRB-59a requires the licensee to submit their information, 
date the form, and sign the form to certify that the requirements of the license renewal 
have been completed under penalty of perjury. This information is necessary for the 
licensing technician to process the renewal of license; the applicant is affirming that he or 
she completed the required ACE course work within the timeframe provided under Board 
Rule 1503.5. In submitting the signed form, the applicant certifies under penalty of perjury 
that he or she has completed the hours of continuing education necessary for renewal of 
license, and that the coursework occurred during the previous 36 months.  The penalty 
of perjury is consistent with other Board forms associated with application for license, 
which are also completed under penalty of perjury.  The applicant is affirming that the 
information he or she provides is true and correct.  Additionally, the “penalty of perjury” 



enhances the likelihood that the licensee will honestly report accurate information or face 
criminal penalties. The CHRB-59a does not require the applicant to list every ACE course 
taken, as the Board does not believe it is possible or necessary for its licensing 
technicians to verify each applicant’s certification. The statement regarding the retention 
of records for four years on the CHRB-59a is to advise the licensee that the form will be 
retained for audit purposes or if there are questions regarding an applicant’s ACE 
coursework.  Subsection 1503.5(b) requires the licensee to maintain records of completed 
ACE coursework for a period of four years from the date the course was completed.  The 
four-year period is necessary to ensure the records are available for audit, if required, for 
at least one year beyond the renewal of license. Additionally, this document is not exempt 
from public records act (PRA) requests, so it was notated on the form that it is subject to 
the PRA, which will provide transparency to the public and better promote the health and 
safety of horses and jockeys by ensuring compliance. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(b) provides that the records of ACE coursework may be in a form 
provided by an ACE course or may be recorded on the form CHRB-242 Continuing 
Education Certificate of Attendance (New 01/20) (CHRB-242).  The CHRB-242 is 
necessary, as not all ACE courses may provide evidence of completion.  For example, 
courses may be online, such as the free online modules offered by The Jockey Club, or 
the University of California Davis education modules available on the Board website.  If a 
certificate of completion is not issued, it will be the responsibility of the licensee to record 
his or her use of such online courses.  As provided by subsections (b)(1) through (b)(3), 
any records of ACE coursework shall include at least the title of the course, meeting or 
conference, the date, location, presentation, topic, and provider of the ACE course, and 
the number of ACE hours earned.  The recording of information regarding ACE course 
work is necessary if, for any reason, the Board wishes to conduct an audit. The Board 
may wish to conduct an audit for any reason, including randomly, but the information 
provided on the forms is essential in conducting an audit in order to confirm that the 
licensee has actually met the minimum requirements for renewal of licensure. In 
submitting the signed form, the applicant certifies under penalty of perjury that he or she 
has completed an ACE course necessary for renewal of license.  The penalty of perjury 
is consistent with other Board forms associated with application for license, which are 
also completed under penalty of perjury.  The applicant is affirming that the information 
he or she provides is true and correct. Subsection 1503.5(b) states the CHRB-242 will be 
available at all Board offices and on the Board’s website. The online and paper distribution 
of the form is necessary to ensure trainers and assistant trainers have easy access to the 
document. Similarly to the CHRB-59a, the requirements for license number, name, hours 
completed, and information regarding where the hours were completed/obtained are for 
audit purposes and to ensure the correct form and application are processed, should the 
forms ever be separated. The certification of the form is to ensure compliance and that 
the licensee has adequately reported information to the Board. Additionally, the statement 
regarding the retention of records for four years on the CHRB- is to advise the licensee 
that the form will be retained for audit purposes or if there are questions regarding an 
applicant’s ACE coursework.  Subsection 1503.5(b) requires the licensee to maintain 
records of completed ACE coursework for a period of four years from the date the course 
was completed.  The four-year period is necessary to ensure the records are available 



for audit, if required, for at least one year beyond the renewal of license. Additionally, this 
document is not exempt from PRA requests, so it was notated on the form that it is subject 
to the PRA, which will provide transparency to the public and better promote the health 
and safety of horses and jockeys by ensuring compliance. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(c) states that unless a waiver is granted under subsection (e), failure 
to maintain or produce records of completed ACE coursework shall result in the 
applicant’s inability to renew a license as trainer or assistant trainer.  Applicants for 
renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer are required to certify that they have 
completed 12 hours of ACE coursework by completing the form CHRB-59a. CHRB-59a 
will be submitted with the application at the time of renewal, which will certify under 
penalty of perjury that the licensee has completed the required hours of continuing 
education, prior to renewing. CHRB-The CHRB-59a does not require the applicant to list 
each course; one merely certifies that one has completed twelve hours of ACE 
coursework.  However, under subsection 1503.5(b), the Board may require the applicant 
to present a record of completion of ACE coursework.  Applicants who certify they have 
completed the ACE course work, but who do not have complete records, may be referred 
to the stewards for a determination.  The stewards, under Board Rule 1527, General 
Authority of Stewards, have general authority and supervision over all licensees and other 
persons attendant on horses. Certification that the licensee has completed at least 12 
hours of continuing education is necessary to ensure that trainers are receiving the proper 
training and education needed to better protect the horses and jockeys. The Board 
anticipates that by requiring continuing education, that trainers will make more informed 
decisions before deciding to race or exercise a horse, which will lead to a decrease in the 
amount of injuries and deaths of both horses and riders. Continuing education is a 
requirement for many professional licenses and has shown to improve the knowledge 
base of licensees and keep individuals informed of up-to-date practices and information. 
If a licensee has failed to obtain the needed continuing education, then they are potentially 
missing crucial information that can help them make an informed decision about whether 
to run a horse in a race or not, which could ultimately lead to break downs. Because of 
this, the Board has determined, absent a waiver, if a trainer has not obtained the needed 
continuing education then they are less likely to make informed decisions which could 
lead to breakdowns of horses and their riders, and thus they cannot renew their license. 
An application for license renewal will be denied if form CHRB-59a is not submitted and/or 
for failure to produce records of completed ACE coursework should such records be 
requested by the Board at the time of renewal. Additionally, if a licensee is renewed and 
later determined that the licensee falsified CHRB-59a and did not complete the required 
continuing education, then the stewards shall fine, suspend, or revoke the license. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(d) provides that the stewards shall fine and/or suspend or revoke the 
license of any applicant for license as assistant trainer or trainer who has provided false 
certification of completed ACE coursework or who fails to produce records of completed 
ACE coursework upon the Board’s request.  Board Rule 1405, Punishment by the Board, 
states that a violation of any provision of Division 4, whether or not a penalty is fixed 
therein, is punishable by revocation or suspension of any license, or by fine, or by any 
combination of these penalties. Board Rule 1900, Grounds for Suspension or Revocation, 



states that any provision which is grounds for denial of license is grounds for suspension 
or revocation.  Board Rule 1489, Grounds for Denial or Refusal of License, provides that 
the Board may refuse to issue a license or deny a license to any person who has made 
any material misrepresentation or false statement in his or her application for license. If a 
licensee has failed to obtain the needed continuing education, or falsified the information 
for continuing education hours completed, then this could ultimately lead to break downs 
of the horse. Because of this, the Board has determined, absent a waiver, if a trainer has 
not obtained the needed continuing education then they are less likely to make informed 
decisions which could lead to breakdowns of horses and their riders, and thus they cannot 
renew their license. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(e) through (e)(1) provides a mechanism wherein the stewards shall 
waive the ACE requirements of any applicant for renewal of license who is not domiciled 
in California, and who has had twelve or fewer starts in races in California, other than 
stakes races1, during the previous 36-month period.  One reason to grant a waiver is to 
avoid duplication, as the applicant may be domiciled in a state that currently has trainer 
continuing education requirements, such as New York or Colorado.  In addition, the Board 
does not wish to discourage trainers who may occasionally run horses in California.  An 
applicant for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer, who runs horses no more 
than four times a year in California, may decide against returning.  Stakes races are not 
included in the count.  The Board has determined it is necessary to exclude stakes races 
to encourage out-of-state participation in California’s highest quality races.  Many of the 
top East Coast stables only participate in California to run in the Breeders Cup, and other 
major stakes races.  If the applicant wishes to receive a waiver, subsection 1503.5(e)(1) 
states he or she must complete the form CHRB-59b, Request for Waiver of Approved 
Continuing Education (ACE) Requirements (New 01/20) (CHRB-59b).  By Completing the 
CHRB-59b, the applicant names his or her city and state of residence and certifies that 
they have had fewer than twelve starts in California, other than stakes races, during the 
previous 36-month period.  The applicant must also list all California starts, less stakes 
races, over the previous 36-months.  After reviewing the form and talking to the applicant, 
the stewards shall approve request that meet the criteria of subsection 1503.5(e), and 
sign and date the form.  If approved, the completed CHRB-59b would then be submitted 
to the Board’s occupational licensing technician with the application for renewal. 
 
Subsections (e)(2) through (e)(3) provide that the ACE requirements may be waived for 
good cause provided the ACE requirements are met within a timeframe not to exceed 12 
months from the date of renewal of license.  The Board has determined that there may 
be circumstances under which it is reasonable to allow a trainer or assistant trainer to 
renew a license despite not having completed the required ACE coursework.  “Good 
cause” may include a change in the licensee’s state of residence.  An out-of-state trainer 
who holds a CHRB-issued license may move to California just prior to renewal of license, 
or for financial or medical reasons a trainer may not have participated in the industry for 

 
1 Stakes races are horse races in which the purse offered is made up at least in part of money (such as 
entry fees) put up by the owners of the horses entered to race.  Stakes races are where the top horses 
compete.  They carry the most prestige and have the biggest purses. 



an extended period2.  If the stewards grant a waiver for good cause, the licensee must 
complete the ACE requirements within 12 months of the date of renewal of license.  
Subsections (e)(2) through (e)(3) are necessary to allow for flexibility in the renewal of 
trainer and assistant trainer licenses without relinquishing the requirement for completed 
ACE coursework.  If the stewards grant a waiver for good cause, they shall provide the 
applicant with a signed recommendation card CHRB-59 (Rev. 12/15).  
 
Subsection 1503.5(e)(4) provides that if a waiver is denied, the applicant will be ineligible 
for renewal of license until he or she has completed the ACE requirements.  If a waiver is 
denied it is necessary to disallow renewal of license to ensure only qualified candidates 
hold a trainer or assistant trainer license.  The purpose of the ACE requirements is to 
guarantee that California’s trainers and assistant trainers demonstrate that they have 
taken actions to improve their level of horsemanship, and have kept abreast of equine 
medication, health and safety issues, and management and human resource topics. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(f) provides that the Equine Medical Director (EMD), in consultation 
with the California Thoroughbred Trainers (CTT), shall make a presentation of the 
proposed ACE curriculum to the Board.  Per Business and Professions Code (BPC) 
19578 (e), the EDM is appointed by the Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine and 
is “the primary advisor to the board on all matters relating to medication and drug testing, 
the practice of veterinary medicine within the areas regulated by the board, and the health 
and safety of horses within the inclosure.” As such, the EDM would be the most qualified 
individual on Board staff to evaluate continuing education courses, and thus it is up to the 
EDM to present their findings to the Board about recommendations and the Board will 
ultimately vote and decide on what will be approved. Advanced approval of the ACE 
curriculum is necessary to ensure an adequate number of courses will be available, and 
that the curriculum is relevant and will contribute to licensees’ learning and development 
as trainers and assistant trainers. This also provides the Board time provide their input 
regarding the coursework, before being approved, as well as to keep the Board informed. 
The CTT is the horsemen’s organization representing California thoroughbred trainers.  
Its involvement with the presentation of ACE curriculum is necessary to ensure trainers’ 
active support and participation in the concept of continuing education.           
 
Subsections 1503.5(f)(1) through (f)(2) provides that subsequent to the yearly ACE 
curriculum presentation to the Board, the EMD may modify the course list to add or 
remove a course.  A current list of Board approved ACE courses shall be available at all 
Board offices and on the Board’s website. This will provide transparency and ease to 
trainers to find approved and relevant courses in order to renew their license.  It is 
necessary to allow the EMD to modify the ACE course listing to provide new course 
materials as they become available, and to remove content that is discontinued.  The 
Board maintains an office at each live race meeting. Different courses are assigned 
different hours, depending on the length of time needed to complete the course, the 

 
2 Rule 1509, Use of License Required, provides that to maintain the qualifications for any license, one must 
have been regularly engaged in the occupation for which the license was issued for no less than 21 working 
or racing days during the term of license.  Under Rule 1486, Term of License, a trainer or assistant trainer 
license granted by the Board shall expire in its third year on the last day of the birth month of the licensee.  



complexity of the course, or the relevance of the course. Depending the continuing 
education offerings, the actual hours of legitimate continuing education may be different 
from the meeting time indicated. An example would be a training advertised as a 3-hour 
trainer’s organization meeting, but for of the two invited speakers one talks for an hour on 
lobbying strategies while the second speaker discusses identifying bone injuries. This 
would not truly be three hours of gained knowledge, so it is important that the EDM 
evaluates every potential course thoroughly before assigning hours. It is common practice 
for continuing education accreditation bodies, especially in veterinary medicine, to 
evaluate a continuing education program and assign relevant hours. Since the EDM is 
the most knowledgeable in this field, they are therefore the most qualified to make this 
determination. The proximity to trainers and assistant trainers at the racetrack, coupled 
with electronic access, will provide for wide distribution of the current listing of Board 
approved ACE courses.  The maintenance of a current listing of ACE courses is 
necessary in order to inform trainers and assistant trainers of available educational 
opportunities.  The listing will also serve to prevent licensees from attempting to take 
credit for courses or seminars that are not Board approved. 
 
Subsection 1503.5(f)(2)(A) states the EMD shall assign the hours credited to an ACE 
course.  In addition to the actual time necessary to complete the ACE course, the EMD 
shall consider the difficulty of the course and expected learning outcomes.  The flexibility 
in assigning “hours” to an ACE course is necessary to encourage licensees to take 
courses that may be more difficult and/or beneficial.  Two ACE courses may involve the 
same amount of time, but one may have a greater learning impact. Per BPC 19578 (e), 
the EDM is appointed by the Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine and is “the 
primary advisor to the board on all matters relating to medication and drug testing, the 
practice of veterinary medicine within the areas regulated by the board, and the health 
and safety of horses within the inclosure.” As such, the EDM would be the most qualified 
individual on Board staff to evaluate continuing education courses, and thus it is up to the 
EDM to assign hours credited to an ACE course.     
 
Subsection 1503(f)(3) states that if a licensee completes ACE coursework, and the course 
is subsequently removed from the listing of Board approved ACE courses, the completed 
coursework will still satisfy the requirements of the regulation.  The provision is necessary 
to ensure that “delisting” of ACE courses is not retroactive, and licensees are not forced 
to take additional ACE courses after a completed course is removed from the Board’s 
curriculum.   
 
Subsection 1503(g) provides a definition of ACE coursework.  The definition is necessary 
to provide a common understanding of the concept of trainer continuing education and 
the subject areas the Board believes will educate trainers and assistant trainers in best 
business practices and human resources, and will advance the health, safety and welfare 
of horse and rider.          
 
 
 
 



BENEFITS ANTICIPATED FROM THE REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 benefits California’s horse racing industry, 
horsemen and the public by ensuring that trainers and assistant trainers engage is a 
program of continuing education designed to improve horsemanship and best practices 
in stable operations.  Trainers and assistant trainers who are aware of advances in 
training techniques and medication issues; changes in horse racing law and regulations; 
and issues related to the health, safety and welfare of backstretch personnel and jockeys, 
are assets who help maintain the integrity of California’s horse racing industry.  The 
proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 is consistent with current Board regulations in 
that the trainer is responsible for the condition of the horse entered to race.  The proposed 
regulation will help to protect backstretch worker health and safety.  The proposed 
regulation will not protect public health and safety, or the environment, the prevention of 
discrimination, the promotion of fairness or social equity, and the increase in openness 
and transparency in government, or business. 
 
TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORTS OR 
DOCUMENTS. 
 
The Board did not rely on any technical, theoretical, and/or empirical study, reports or 
documents in proposing the addition of Board Rule 1503.5. 
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT 
 
The results of the Board’s Economic Impact Assessment as required by Government 
Code (GC) section 11346.3(b) are as follows: 
 

• The proposed regulation will not impact the creation or eliminate jobs within the 
State of California, or the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing 
business or the expansion of businesses in California. 

• The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 will not impact the creation of new 
businesses or eliminate existing businesses in California. 

• Board Rule 1503.5 will not impact the expansion of businesses currently doing 
business in California. 

• The proposed regulation will benefit the health and welfare of California’s 
backstretch workers but will not benefit the health and welfare of California 
residents in general or benefit the State’s environment. 

 
The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed addition of Board Rule 
1503.5 will not have a significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting 
business including the ability of California business to compete with businesses in other 
states.  The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 
2021, applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that 
during the previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE 
coursework.  Licensees are required to maintain records of completed course work for a 
period four years from the date the course was completed and shall provide such records 



to the Board upon request.  The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants 
who are not domiciled in California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, 
other than stakes races, during the previous 36-months, or for good cause.  The proposed 
regulation defines trainer’s continuing education as instruction intended to foster 
competence and knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes 
compliance with California’s horse racing law, and regulations; equine health, safety and 
welfare in racing and the promotion of human safety and welfare.  The proposed 
amendment will not affect the elimination of existing businesses within the State of 
California, as it deals with the continuing education of California’s licensed trainers and 
assistant trainers.  Trainers who are well informed regarding issues affecting the 
performance of their stable operations will likely be more successful and will continue 
operating in California. 
 
PURPOSE 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, 
applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the 
previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE coursework.  
The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants who are not domiciled in 
California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, other than stakes races, 
during the previous 36-months, or for good cause.  The proposed regulation defines 
trainer’s continuing education as instruction intended to foster competence and 
knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes compliance with 
California’s horse racing law, and regulations; equine health, safety and welfare in racing 
and the promotion of human safety and welfare.  The proposed addition of Board Rule 
1503.5 in intended to ensure that trainers and assistant trainers engage is a program of 
continuing education designed to improve horsemanship and best practices in stable 
operations.  Trainers and assistant trainers who are aware of advances in training 
techniques and medication issues; changes in horse racing law and regulations; and 
issues related to the health, safety and welfare of backstretch personnel and jockeys, are 
assets who help maintain the integrity of California’s horse racing industry. 
 
CREATION OR ELIMINATION OF JOBS WITHIN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, 
applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the 
previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE coursework.  
The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants who are not domiciled in 
California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, other than stakes races, 
during the previous 36-months, or for good cause.  The proposed regulation defines 
trainer’s continuing education as instruction intended to foster competence and 
knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes compliance with 
California’s horse racing law, and regulations; equine health, safety and welfare in racing 
and the promotion of human safety and welfare.  The proposed amendment will not affect 
the creation or elimination of jobs within the State of California, as it deals with the 
continuing education of persons licensed in California as trainers or assistant trainers.     



CREATION OF NEW OR ELIMINATION OF EXISTING BUSINESSES WITHIN THE 
STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, 
applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the 
previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE coursework.  
The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants who are not domiciled in 
California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, other than stakes races, 
during the previous 36-months, or for good cause.  The proposed regulation defines 
trainer’s continuing education as instruction intended to foster competence and 
knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes compliance with 
California’s horse racing law, and regulations; equine health, safety and welfare in racing 
and the promotion of human safety and welfare.  The proposed amendment will not affect 
the elimination of existing businesses within the State of California, as it deals with the 
continuing education of California’s licensed trainers and assistant trainers.  Trainers who 
are well informed regarding issues affecting the performance of their stable operations 
will likely be more successful and will continue operating in California. 
 
EXPANSION OF BUSINESSES OR ELIMINATION OF EXISTING BUSINESSES 
WITHIN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, 
applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the 
previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE coursework.  
The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants who are not domiciled in 
California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, other than stakes races, 
during the previous 36-months, or for good cause.  The proposed regulation defines 
trainer’s continuing education as instruction intended to foster competence and 
knowledge in horsemanship, and which specifically promotes compliance with 
California’s horse racing law, and regulations; equine health, safety and welfare in racing 
and the promotion of human safety and welfare.  The proposed amendment will not affect 
the expansion of businesses or elimination of existing businesses within the State of 
California, as it deals with the continuing education of persons licensed in California as 
trainers or assistant trainers. 
 
 
BENEFITS OF THE REGULATION TO THE HEALTH AND WELFARE OF CALIFORNIA 
RESIDENTS, WORKER SAFETY, AND THE STATE’S ENVIRONMENT 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 provides that commencing June 1, 2021, 
applicants for renewal of license as trainer or assistant trainer shall certify that during the 
previous 36-month period they have completed a total of 12 hours of ACE coursework.  
The stewards may waive the ACE requirements for applicants who are not domiciled in 
California, and who have had twelve or fewer starts in California, other than stakes races, 
during the previous 36-months.  The proposed regulation defines trainer’s continuing 
education as instruction intended to foster competence and knowledge in horsemanship, 



and which specifically promotes compliance with California’s horse racing law, and 
regulations; equine health, safety and welfare in racing and the promotion of human 
safety and welfare.  The proposed regulation will benefit the health and welfare of 
California’s backstretch workers but will not benefit the health and welfare of California 
residents in general.  The proposed regulation will not benefit the state’s environment. 
 
ALTERNATIVE TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION THAT WOULD LESSEN 
ANY ADVERSE IMPACT ON AFFECTED PRIVATE PERSONS OR BUSINESSES 
 
The Board has determined that there were no alternatives considered which would be 
more effective in carrying out the purposes of the proposed regulation or would be more 
effective and less burdensome to affected private persons or businesses than the 
proposed regulation. 
 
REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The proposed addition of Board Rule 1503.5 was discussed at the April 19, 2018 regular 
Board meeting.  The Board voted to instruct staff to prepare a Notice of Proposed Action.  
No subsequent alternative recommendations were made prior to the notice.  The Board 
invites any interested party to submit comments which offer any alternative proposal. 
 
California Horse Racing Board 
May 15, 2020 


