Welcome to the California Horse Racing Board

 

 

1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300
Sacramento, California 95825
(916) 263 - 6000

Decrease the text size Restore original text size Increase the text size
Enlarge Text
Click to increase the text size.
Restore Text
Click to restore original text size.
Reduce Text
Click to decrease the text size.
Amber Alert Save Our Water BannerKeep Your Home California - http://www.keepyourhomecalifornia.org/Register To Vote - http://registertovote.ca.gov/ Ahorre Nuestra Agua
Rule No.Rule Title
1865Altering of Sex of Horse.
Rule TextAny alteration to the sex of a horse from the sex as recorded on the certificate of foal registration or the eligibility certificate or other official registration certificate of the horse shall be reported to the racing secretary and the official horse identifier if the horse is entered to race at any race meeting. (a) If a racehorse is gelded or castrated on the premises of a licensed racing association, or other facility under the jurisdiction of the Board, the trainer shall report the alteration within 72 hours. (b) If a racehorse is gelded or castrated off the premises of a licensed racing association, or other facility under the jurisdiction of the Board, and the horse has been previously entered to race at any race meeting in this State, the owner and/or trainer shall report the alteration at the time the horse is next entered to race. (c) A report of gelding or castration will include the name of the veterinarian performing the alteration and the date of the alteration, and shall be recorded on the official registration certificate and the official horse identification record of the horse. (d) A trainer who enters a horse, or who causes a horse to be entered on his behalf, is responsible for ensuring that the true sex of the entered horse is listed on its certificate of registration on file in the racing office. (1) If the true sex of a horse is not correctly identified in the official program for the race in which the horse is entered, the trainer of the horse shall be subject to a minimum fine of $1,000. (2) Deviation from the minimum fine in subsection (d)(1) of this regulation is appropriate if the trainer can demonstrate mitigating circumstances. Mitigating circumstances may include, but are not limited to: (A) Errors made by other parties in recording information correctly provided by the trainer. NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 19420, 19440, 19460 and 19562, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 19420, 19562 and 19661 Business and Professions Code. HISTORY: 1. New rule filed 3-11-09; effective 4-10-09.
 

Go back and search again