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CHRB NEWS RELEASE APRIL 10, 2014 
 

 

CHRB TAKING STRONG STAND ON ELECTRICAL DEVICES 

SACRAMENTO, CA – The California Horse Racing Board is moving to adopt strict penalties for 
riders using electrical devices in races or workouts. In the interim, Executive Director Rick Baedeker has 
issued a directive for CHRB investigators to refer any such cases directly to the racing commissioners for 
hearings and also to notify the local District Attorney for possible criminal prosecution. 

CHRB Rule 1890(c) “prohibits any person from having in his possession on the premises [including 
auxiliary stabling and training facilities] during any recognized meeting any electrical stimulating or 
shocking device commonly referred to as a battery, or any mechanical stimulating device, or any other 
appliance, which might affect the speed or actions of a horse.” 

CHRB rules do not contain penalty guidelines for the stewards and other judges to follow when 
adjudicating cases except for violations involving medications, which are based on national model rules and 
detailed in CHRB Rule 1843.3. Establishing a penalty guideline within the rule for use of an electrical 
device will be the first step taken by the Board to codify penalties in rules beyond medication violations. 

In his directive, Baedeker instructed investigators to “refer any compliant filed against a jockey or 
exercise rider for violation of this rule directly to the full Board of Commissioners rather than the Board of 
Stewards, so that the full Board may consider and impose the maximum penalty allowable under the law 
(i.e. permanent revocation of the person’s occupational license).” 

In addition, “investigators are directed to refer any such case involving a race to the local District 
Attorney for prosecution under California Penal Code 337f(a)(1), which prohibits any jockey from affecting 
the result of a race through the use of any electrical device or equipment and which is punishable by a fine 
not exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or 
by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170, or by both that fine and imprisonment.” 

Procedurally for a case to be heard directly by the racing commissioners rather than the stewards, an 
administrative law judge must be present to assist the Board in the conduct of the hearing. Only those 
commissioners who hear the evidence can vote in the decision. The Board has 100 days following the 
hearing to issue its decision. 
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