NOTE: Government Code section 11340.85 requires the Board to post all notices, initial
statement of reasons and texts of rules noticed to the public until 15 days after the proposed
reqgulations are filed with the Secretary of State by the Office of Administrative Law.

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
TITLE 4, DIVISION 4, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO AMEND
RULE 1632, JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE

The California Horse Racing Board (Board, or CHRB) proposes to amend the regulation
described below after considering all comments, objections or recommendations regarding the
proposed action.

PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION

The Board proposes to amend Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, to adjust the Non-Winning
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase
of 5 percent that will be effective January 1, 2017. Business and Professions Code section
19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts to be increased
whenever the state minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase. In addition,
the Board proposes to amend the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale to reflect only the dollar
amounts to be paid jockeys riding losing mounts. The Board also proposes to add new
subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) which provide direction for calculating jockey riding
fees for second and third place mounts.

PUBLIC HEARING

The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, November 17, 2016, or as
soon thereafter as business before the Board will permit, at the Del Mar Surfside Race Place,
2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, California. At the hearing, any person may present
statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the proposed action described in the
informative digest. It is requested, but not required, that persons making oral comments at the
hearing submit a written copy of their testimony.

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD

Any interested persons, or their authorized representative, may submit written comments about
the proposed regulatory action to the Board. The written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. on
October 24, 2016. The Board must receive all comments at that time; however, written
comments may still be submitted at the public hearing. Submit comments to:

Nicole Lopes-Gravely, Regulation Analyst
California Horse Racing Board

1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300

Sacramento, CA 95825



Telephone: (916) 263-6397
Fax: (916) 263-6022
E-mail: nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE
Authority cited: Sections 19440, 19501 and 19562, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 19401 (a), 19401 (d), 19420, 19440, 19501, and 19502, Business and Professions Code.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW

Business and Professions Code section 19401(a) and (d) provides that the intent of Chapter 4 is
to allow pari-mutuel wagering on horse races, while assuring protection of the public and
providing uniformity of regulation for each type of horse racing. Business and Professions Code
section 19420 states jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in California where horse races
with wagering on their results are held or conducted, and over all persons or things having to do
with the operation of such meetings, is vested in the California Horse Racing Board. Business
and Professions Code section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all powers necessary and
proper to enable it to carry out fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter. Responsibilities
of the Board shall include adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the
control of horse racing and pari-mutuel wagering. Business and Professions Code section 19562
provides that the Board may prescribe rules, regulations, and conditions, consistent with the
provisions of this chapter, under which all horse races with wagering on their results shall be
conducted in California. Assembly Bill (AB) 649, Chapter 605, Statutes of 2007, added section
19501to the Business and Professions Code. Subsection 19501(b)(1) states that the scale of
minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts shall be increased whenever the state minimum
wage is increased by the percentage of that increase.

Business and Professions Code subsection 19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey
riding fees whenever the state minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase;
however, it does not provide for an increase for the second and third place mounts. Further, Rule
1632 provides specific dollar amounts to pay losing mounts. To calculate second and third place
mount fees, Rule 1632 provides a formula of 5 percent of place purse, plus $10 for second and
third place mounts finishing with purses of $10,000 to $100,000. This has resulted in a steady
increase in losing mount fees while second and third place mount fees have remained static. As
a result of the minimum wage increases over the past several years, the fees paid to losing
mounts have begun to encroach upon the amounts paid to second and third place mounts, with
the result that the formula for second and third place mount fees (5 percent plus $10) no longer
works under all circumstances. In some instances the losing mount jockey riding fee may be
equal to or greater than the third place mount. When the third place mount fee is adjusted, it may
be equal to the second place mount fee. This will eliminate any disparity between the non-
winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from intentionally losing a race rather than put
forth his best effort in order to earn more money.

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 addresses the mount fee disparities by changing the non-
winning jockey riding fee chart under subsection 1632(b) to reflect only the dollar amounts to be
paid jockeys riding losing mounts, and by adding new subsections 1632(b)(3) through
1632(b)(5) to provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place
mounts. Subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) do not change current practice; instead, they
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place current practice in narrative form. A new subsection 1632(b)(3) states that the Paymaster
of Purses shall use the Horsemen’s Agreement to determine the horse owner’s place purse when
calculating non-winning jockey riding fees. The Horsemen’s Agreements provide the percentage
of the gross purse the horse owner will receive, based on the order of the finish. The owner’s
percentage of the gross purse is the dollar amount from which the Paymaster of Purses will
calculate the jockey mount fee. The subsection also provides that the losing mount jockey riding
fee shall be paid as provided under subsection 1632(b). This is due to the fact that the losing fees
are specific dollar amounts based on the requirements of Business and Professions Code section
19501. The minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts are increased whenever California’s
minimum wage is increased and are not based on the owner’s share of the gross purse.
Therefore, the losing mount fees must be stated in the regulation. A new subsection 1632(b)(4)
provides the formula for calculating the second and third place mount fees. It is the same
formula that is provided under the current 1632(b) non-winning jockey riding fee chart: 5 percent
plus $10. A new subsection 1632(b)(5) provides instructions for the Paymaster of Purses should
the losing mount fee be equal to or greater than the third place mount fee. The third place mount
shall earn $2 more than the losing mount and the second place mount shall earn $2 more than the
third place mount. This will allow the Paymaster of Purses to ensure that losing mount fees are
never equal to or greater than second and third place mount fees.

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632(b) amends the non-winning jockey riding fee chart to
reflect only the dollar amounts to be paid jockeys riding losing mounts by 5 percent based on the
California minimum wage rate increase that becomes effective January 1, 2017. In addition, the
proposed amendment adds new subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) which provide
direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts. This will
eliminate any disparity between the non-winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from
intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money. This
will increase the public’s confidence in California horse racing, which may result in increased
wagering. An increase in wagering will have a positive economic impact on the industry by
increasing handle, which in turn may increase purses and commissions. The specific benefits
anticipated from the regulation are compliance with current law and a balanced fee scale which
will result in a fair and honest race product.

CONSISTENCY EVALUATION
During the process of developing these regulations and amendments, the CHRB has conducted a
search of any similar regulations on this topic and has concluded that these regulations are

neither inconsistent nor incompatible with existing state regulations.

DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION/RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC
IMPACT ANALYSIS

Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none.
Cost or savings to any state agency: none.

Cost to any local agency or school district that must be reimbursed in accordance with
Government Code Section 17500 through 17630: none.



Other non-discretionary cost or savings imposed upon local agencies: none.
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: none.

The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not
have a significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the
ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states.

The following studies/relevant data were relied upon in making the above determination: none.

Cost impact on representative private persons or businesses: The Board is not aware of any cost
impacts that a representative private person or business would necessarily incur in reasonable
compliance with the proposed action.

Significant effect on housing costs: none.
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The adoption of the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not (1) create or eliminate jobs
within California; (2) create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; or
(3) affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within California. The proposed
amendment to Rule 1632 is a benefit to the health and welfare of California residents because it
promotes fairness and compliance with current law. The proposed regulation will increase the
losing mounts fee scale to reflect the new California minimum wage increase of 5 percent that
becomes effective January 1, 2017, as required by Business and Professions Code section
19501(b)(1). In addition, the proposed regulation will provide direction for calculating jockey
riding fees for second and third place mounts which will create a balanced fee scale and
eliminate any inequality. This will promote the public’s interest in a fair and honest race product
by deterring a jockey from intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order
to earn more money. Furthermore, by adjusting the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale based
on the minimum wage increase there may be an increase to consumer spending that in turn may
help the overall economy in California.

Effect on small businesses: none. The proposal to amend Rule 1632 does not affect small
businesses because horse racing associations in California are not classified as small businesses
under Government Code Section 11342.610.

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES

In accordance with Government Code Section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must
determine that no reasonable alternative considered by the Board, or that has otherwise been
identified and brought to the attention of the Board, would be more effective in carrying out the
purpose for which the action is proposed, or would be as effective and less burdensome on
affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost-effective to affected
private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of
law.



The Board invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to
alternatives to the proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during the written comment
period.

CONTACT PERSON

Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed action and requests for copies of the proposed
text of the regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulation, if any,
and other information upon which the rulemaking is based should be directed to:

Nicole Lopes-Gravely, Regulation Analyst
California Horse Racing Board

1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300

Sacramento, CA 95825

Telephone: (916) 263-6397

Fax: (916) 263-6022

E-mail: nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov

If the person named above is not available, interested parties may contact:

Laurel Houle, Regulation Analyst
Policy and Regulations
Telephone: (916) 274-6043

AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND TEXT OF PROPOSED
REGULATION

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection and copying throughout
the rulemaking process at its offices at the above address. As of the date this notice is published
in the Notice Register, the rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed text of the
regulation, and the initial statement of reasons. Copies of these documents, or any of the
information upon which the proposed rulemaking is based on, may be obtained by contacting
Nicole Lopes-Gravely, or the alternative contact person at the address, phone number or e-mail
address listed above.

AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT

After holding a hearing and considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Board
may adopt the proposed regulation substantially as described in this notice. If modifications are
made which are sufficiently related to the originally proposed text, the modified text, with
changes clearly marked, shall be made available to the public for at least 15 days prior to the date
on which the Board adopts the regulations. Requests for copies of any modified regulations
should be sent to the attention of Nicole Lopes-Gravely at the address stated above. The Board
will accept written comments on the modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which it is
made available.
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AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS

Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons, which will be available after the Board has
adopted the proposed regulation in its current or modified form, should be sent to the attention of
Nicole Lopes-Gravely at the address stated above.

BOARD WEB ACCESS

The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection throughout the
rulemaking process at its web site. The rulemaking file consists of the notice, the proposed text
of the regulations and the initial statement of reasons. The Board’s web site address is:
www.chrb.ca.gov.

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
RULE 1632. JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE.
SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THE REGULATION

The Board proposes to amend Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, to adjust the Non-Winning
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase
of 5 percent that will be effective January 1, 2017. Business and Professions Code section
19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts to be increased
whenever the state minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase. In addition,
the Board proposes to amend the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale to reflect only the dollar
amounts to be paid jockeys riding losing mounts. The Board also proposes to add new
subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) which provide direction for calculating jockey riding
fees for second and third place mounts.

PROBLEM

Business and Professions Code subsection 19501(b)(1) provides for an increase for losing
mounts on the scale of minimum jockey riding fees whenever the state minimum wage is
increased by the percentage of that increase; however, it does not provide for an increase for the
second and third place mounts. Further, Rule 1632 provides specific dollar amounts to pay
losing mounts. This has resulted in a steady increase in losing mount fees while second and third
place mount fees have remained static. As a result of the minimum wage increases over the past
several years, the fees paid to losing mounts have begun to encroach upon the amounts paid to
second and third place mounts. This creates a disparity between the non-winning jockey riding
fees and may remove any incentive for a jockey to put forth his best effort.

In April 2016, Governor Brown signed Senate Bill (SB) 3 to increase California’s minimum
wage by 5 percent commencing January 1, 2017. Under SB 3, the minimum hourly wage will
increase each year by $1.00 per hour through January 1, 2022, when the minimum wage will
reach $15.00 per hour. The enactment of SB 3 will require that Board Rule 1632, Jockey’s
Riding fee, which currently provides a scale of jockey riding fees, be amended once a year over
the next six years. The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will update non-winning jockey
riding fees as mandated by SB 3.
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NECESSITY

Business and Professions Code subsection 19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey
riding fees whenever the state minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase;
however, it does not provide for an increase for the second and third place mounts. Further, Rule
1632 provides specific dollar amounts to pay losing mounts. To calculate second and third place
mount fees, Rule 1632 provides a formula of 5 percent of place purse, plus $10 for second and
third place mounts finishing with purses of $10,000 to $100,000. This has resulted in a steady
increase in losing mount fees while second and third place mount fees have remained static. As
a result of the minimum wage increases over the past several years, the fees paid to losing
mounts have begun to encroach upon the amounts paid to second and third place mounts, with
the result that the formula for second and third place mount fees (5 percent plus $10) no longer
works under all circumstances. In some instances the losing mount jockey riding fee may be
equal to or greater than the third place mount. When the third place mount fee is adjusted, it may
be equal to the second place mount fee. This will eliminate any disparity between the non-
winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from intentionally losing a race rather than put
forth his best effort in order to earn more money.

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 addresses the mount fee disparities by changing the non-
winning jockey riding fee chart under subsection 1632(b) to reflect only the dollar amounts to be
paid jockeys riding losing mounts, and by adding new subsections 1632(b)(3) through
1632(b)(5) to provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place
mounts. Subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) do not change current practice; instead, they
place current practice in narrative form. A new subsection 1632(b)(3) states that the Paymaster
of Purses shall use the Horsemen’s Agreement to determine the horse owner’s place purse when
calculating non-winning jockey riding fees. The Horsemen’s Agreements provide the percentage
of the gross purse the horse owner will receive, based on the order of the finish. The owner’s
percentage of the gross purse is the dollar amount from which the Paymaster of Purses will
calculate the jockey mount fee. The subsection also provides that the losing mount jockey riding
fee shall be paid as provided under subsection 1632(b). This is due to the fact that the losing fees
are specific dollar amounts based on the requirements of Business and Professions Code section
19501. The minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts are increased whenever California’s
minimum wage is increased and are not based on the owner’s share of the gross purse.
Therefore, the losing mount fees must be stated in the regulation. A new subsection 1632(b)(4)
provides the formula for calculating the second and third place mount fees. It is the same
formula that is provided under the current 1632(b) non-winning jockey riding fee chart: 5 percent
plus $10. A new subsection 1632(b)(5) provides instructions for the Paymaster of Purses should
the losing mount fee be equal to or greater than the third place mount fee. The third place mount
shall earn $2 more than the losing mount and the second place mount shall earn $2 more than the
third place mount. This will allow the Paymaster of Purses to ensure that losing mount fees are
never equal to or greater than second and third place mount fees.

BENEFITS ANTICIPATED FROM THE REGULATORY ACTION
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632(b) amends the non-winning jockey riding fee chart to

reflect only the dollar amounts to be paid jockeys riding losing mounts by 5 percent based on the
California minimum wage rate increase that becomes effective January 1, 2017. In addition, the



proposed amendment adds new subsections 1632(b)(3) through 1632(b)(5) which provide
direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts. This will
eliminate any disparity between the non-winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from
intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money. This
will increase the public’s confidence in California horse racing, which may result in increased
wagering. An increase in wagering will have a positive economic impact on the industry by
increasing handle, which in turn may increase purses and commissions. The specific benefits
anticipated from the regulation are compliance with current law and a balanced fee scale which
will result in a fair and honest race product.

TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORTS OR
DOCUMENTS

The Board did not rely on any technical, theoretical, and/or empirical study, reports or
documents in proposing the amendment of the regulation.

RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The results of the Board’s Economic Impact Assessment as required by Government Code
Section 11346.3(b) are as follows:

e The proposed regulation will not impact the creation or elimination of jobs within the
State of California.

e The proposed regulation will not have an impact on the creation of new businesses or the
elimination of existing businesses in the State of California.

e The proposed regulation will not have an impact on the expansion of existing businesses
in the State of California.

e The proposed regulation will benefit California by promoting the safety and welfare of
horse and rider and will not benefit the State’s environment.

The Board has made the initial determination that the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not
have a significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the
ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states. The proposed
amendment to Rule 1632 will bring the California Horse Racing Board (CHRB) in compliance
with Business and Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the
upcoming state minimum wage rate increase of 5 percent for losing mounts. In addition, the
proposed regulation will provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third
place mounts which will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality. This
regulation will only affect jockeys and owners, and only when said parties have not agreed on a
fee to be paid to the jockey as specified in a contract or written agreement and submitted before
the running of a race. Absent a contract or written agreement, the jockey will be paid based on
the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale. The proposed amendment to the regulation may
encourage out-of-state horsemen to compete in California by assuring they will receive proper
compensation for losing mounts.

Purpose:

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, will adjust the Non-Winning
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase



of 5 percent that will become effective January 1, 2017. The purpose of the proposed
amendment to Rule 1632, subsection (b) is to comply with Business and Professions Code
section 19501(b)(1) which requires an increase in the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for
losing mounts whenever the state minimum wage is increased by a percentage of that increase.
In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will provide direction for calculating jockey
riding fees for second and third place mounts. This will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate
any disparity between the non-winning jockey riding fees.

The Creation or Elimination of Jobs Within the State of California

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming state minimum
wage rate increase of 5 percent for losing mounts. In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule
1632 will provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts.
This will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality. This regulation will only
affect jockeys and owners and as such only has an effect on horseracing and not any other type
of California business. Therefore, CHRB has determined that this regulatory proposal will not
have a significant impact on the creation or elimination of jobs in the State of California.

The Creation of New Businesses or the Elimination of Existing Businesses within the State of
California

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming state minimum
wage rate increase of 5 percent for losing mounts. In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule
1632 will provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts.
This will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality. This regulation will only
affect jockeys and owners and as such only has an effect on horseracing and not any other type
of California business. Therefore, CHRB has determined this regulatory proposal will not have
an impact on the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing businesses in the State
of California.

The Expansion of Businesses Currently Doing Business Within the State of California

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming state minimum
wage rate increase of 5 percent for losing mounts. In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule
1632 will provide direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts.
This will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality. This regulation will only
affect jockeys and owners, and only when said parties have not agreed on a fee to be paid to the
jockey as specified in a contract or written agreement and submitted before the running of a race.
Absent a contract or written agreement, the jockey will be paid based on the Non-Winning
Jockey Riding Fee scale. Therefore, CHRB has determined that the proposed regulatory action
is not relevant to the expansion of businesses currently doing business in the State of California.

Benefits of the Requlations to the Health and Welfare of California Residents, Worker Safety,
and the State’s Environment




The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 is a benefit to the health and welfare of California
residents because it promotes fairness and compliance with current law. The proposed regulation
will increase the losing mounts fee scale to reflect the new California minimum wage increase of
5 percent that will become effective January 1, 2017, as required by Business and Professions
Code section 19501(b)(1). In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will provide
direction for calculating jockey riding fees for second and third place mounts. This will create a
balanced fee scale and eliminate any disparity between the non-winning jockey riding fees. This
will promote the public’s interest in a fair and honest race product by deterring a jockey from
intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money.
Furthermore, by adjusting the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale based on the minimum
wage increase there may be an increase to consumer spending that in turn may help the overall
economy in California. These regulations do not benefit the state’s environment.

ALTERNATIVE TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION THAT WOULD LESSEN
ANY ADVERSE IMPACT ON AFFECTED PRIVATE PERSONS OR BUSINESSES

The Board has determined that no reasonable alternative it considered or that has otherwise been
identified and brought to its attention would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for
which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private
persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost-effective to affected private persons and
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law.

REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION

The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 was discussed at the June 16, 2016, Regular Board
Meeting. No alternatives to the recommendation were proposed by the Board or by any other
individual or entity at the meeting. No subsequent alternative recommendations were made prior
to the notice. The Board invites any interested party to submit comments which offer any
alternative proposal.

California Horse Racing Board
September 9, 2016

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
ARTICLE 6. ENTRIES AND DECLARATIONS
PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO
RULE 1632. JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE

1632. Jockey's Riding Fee.

(a) Winning jockey riding fees in the absence of a contract or special agreement are:

GROSS PURSE Winning Mount
$100,000 and up: . . .. 10% of Win Purse



50,000-99,999: . . .. 10% of Win Purse

25,000-49,999: . . .. 10% of Win Purse
15,000-24,999: . ... 10% of Win Purse
10,000-14,999: . ... 10% of Win Purse
5,000-9,999: ..... 10% of Win Purse
3,500-4,999: ..... 10% of Win Purse
2,000-3,499: ..... 10% of Win Purse
1,500-1,999: ... 10% of Win Purse

(1) The purpose of subsection (a) is not to set a minimum or maximum fee. It provides a
fee if the parties have not made a written agreement to the contrary.
(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (a) are payable in the lower purse range until the next

higher purse range is reached, unless there is a written agreement to the contrary.

(b) Nen-winningfockey Jockey riding fees for losing mounts are:

GROSS PURSE 2nd-Meount 3rd-Mount Losing Mount
$100,000 and up: ....  5%-ofPlacePurse; 5%ofShowPurse; $168.74 177.18
plus-$10.00 plus-$106.00
50,000-99,999: . . .. 5% of Place Purse;  5%-of Show-Purse; 13749 144.37
plus-$10.00 plus-$10.00
25,000-49,999: . . .. 5% of Place Purse;  5%-of Show-Purse; 11874 124.68
plus-$10.00 plus-$10.00
15,000-24,999: . . .. 5% of Place Purse;  5%-of Show-Purse; 106:24 111.55
plus-$10.00 plus-$10.00
10,000-14,999: . ... 5% of-Place-Purse;  5%-of Show-Purse; 99.99 104.99
plus-$10.00 plus-$106.00
5,000-9,999: .. ... $112.49 $96-25 9375 98.44

(1) The purpose of subsection (b) is to set a minimum, but not a maximum riding fee. No
non-winning jockey shall be paid less than the riding fee set forth in subsection (b).

(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (b) are payable in the lower purse range until the next
higher purse range is reached unless there is a written agreement to the contrary. However, no
such written agreement shall reduce the minimum required by subsection (b).

(3) To determine the horse owner’s place purse or show purse when calculating non-

winning jockey riding fees, the Paymaster of Purses shall use the purse agreement provided in

the Horsemen’s Agreement for the race meeting at which the jockeys earned such fees. The




losing mount fee shall be paid as provided under subsection (b) of this rule.

(4) For horse races with gross purses between $10,000 and $100,000, a minimum of five

percent of the horse owner’s place purse or show purse plus $10.00 shall be used when

calculating the second place and third place non-winning jockey riding fees.

(5) If the losing mount fee is equal to or greater than the third place mount fee, the

Paymaster of Purses shall adjust the mount fees so that the third place mount shall earn $2 more

than the losing mount, and the second place mount shall earn $2 more than the third place mount.

(c) A jockey's fee is considered earned when the jockey is weighed out by the clerk of
scales. The fee shall not be considered earned if the jockey elects to take himself off of his
mount. If there is a substitution of jockeys, no additional jockey fee or double jockey fee need
be paid except when ordered by the stewards.

(d) In this rule "Win Purse" means the amount paid the winning horse less the fees paid
exclusively by the owner to enter the horse in the race;

(1) Entry, nomination or other fees paid shall not be deducted from a jockey riding fee if
such fees are paid or reimbursed by any person or entity other than the owner.

(e) If the parties agree on the fee to be paid the jockey, a contract or agreement in writing
signed by the jockey or his agent and the owner or his authorized agent specifying the agreed
upon fee if a winning mount, second place mount, third place mount and losing mount shall be
delivered to the paymaster of purses before the running of the race in question. The paymaster of
purses shall debit the owner's purse account under the contract or written agreement. If no
contract or written agreement is submitted before the running of the race in question, the
paymaster of purses shall debit the owner's purse account under the fee scale set forth in this
rule.

(F) A jockey may not share in the fees of another jockey.



Authority: Sections 19440, 19501 and 19562,
Business and Professions Code.

Reference:  Sections 19401 (a), 19401(d), 19420, 19440, 19501, and 19502,
Business and Professions Code.



