
NOTE:  Government Code section 11340.85 requires the Board to post all notices, initial 
statement of reasons and texts of rules noticed to the public until 15 days after the proposed 
regulations are filed with the Secretary of State by the Office of Administrative Law. 

 
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 

 
NOTICE OF POSTPONEMENT 

OF HEARING ON PROPOSAL TO AMEND 
RULE 1632.  JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE 

 
Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code Section 11346.8 subdivision (b) of the 
California Code of Regulations, the California Horse Racing Board is providing notice that the 
hearing on the proposed regulatory amendment to Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, which was 
scheduled for Thursday, September 24, 2015, has been postponed. 
 
The proposal to amend Rule 1632 was originally noticed to the public on August 7, 2015.  The 
proposal to amend Rule 1632 was to be heard on Thursday, September 24, 2015.  The regular 
meeting of the California Horse Racing Board originally scheduled for September 24, 2015, has 
been rescheduled and the Board will not be able to take action on the proposed amendments at 
that time.  Therefore, the hearing is postponed until the next scheduled meeting of the California 
Horse Racing Board at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, October 22, 2015, at the Santa Anita Park Race 
Track, Baldwin Terrace Room, 285 West Huntington Drive, Arcadia, California. 
 
Any interested person who has questions regarding this notice of postponement should contact 
 

Nicole Lopes-Gravely, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 

Policy and Regulation Unit 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 

Sacramento, CA  95825 
 

Phone:  (916) 263-6397 
E-mail:  nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov 

 
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 

TITLE 4, DIVISION 4, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO AMEND 
RULE 1632, JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE 

 
 
The California Horse Racing Board (Board, or CHRB) proposes to amend the regulation 
described below after considering all comments, objections or recommendations regarding the 
proposed action. 
 
PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The Board proposes to amend Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, to adjust the Non-Winning 
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase 
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of 11.1 percent that will be effective January 1, 2016.  Business and Professions Code section 
19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts to be increased 
whenever the State minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase.  In addition, 
the Board proposes to amend the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale to reflect an increase of 
11.1 percent for the 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross purse of $9,999 or less.   
 
PUBLIC HEARING 
 
The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, September 24, 2015, or 
as soon thereafter as business before the Board will permit, at the Los Alamitos Race Course, 
4961 Katella Avenue, Los Alamitos, California.  At the hearing, any person may present 
statements or arguments orally or in writing relevant to the proposed action described in the 
informative digest.  It is requested, but not required, that persons making oral comments at the 
hearing submit a written copy of their testimony. 
 
WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
 
Any interested persons, or their authorized representative, may submit written comments about 
the proposed regulatory action to the Board.  The written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. on 
September 21, 2015.  The Board must receive all comments at that time; however, written 
comments may still be submitted at the public hearing.  Submit comments to: 
 
Nicole Lopes-Gravely, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263-6397 
Fax: (916) 263-6022 
E-mail:  nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
Authority cited: Sections 19440, 19501 and 19562, Business and Professions Code.  Reference: 
Sections 19401 (a), 19401 (d), 19420, 19440, 19501, and 19502, Business and Professions Code. 
Business and Professions Code sections 19420 and 19440 give the Board jurisdiction and 
supervision over meetings in California where horse races with wagering on their results are 
held, and authorize the Board to adopt, amend or repeal regulations. 
 
INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19401(a) and (d) provides that the intent of Chapter 4 is 
to allow pari-mutuel wagering on horse races, while assuring protection of the public and 
providing uniformity of regulation for each type of horse racing.  Business and Professions Code 
section 19420 states jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in California where horse races 
with wagering on their results are held or conducted, and over all persons or things having to do 
with the operation of such meetings, is vested in the California Horse Racing Board.  Business 
and Professions Code section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all powers necessary and 
proper to enable it to carry out fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter.  Responsibilities 
of the Board shall include adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the 
control of horse racing and pari-mutuel wagering.  Business and Professions Code section 19562 
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provides that the Board may prescribe rules, regulations, and conditions, consistent with the 
provisions of this chapter, under which all horse races with wagering on their results shall be 
conducted in California.  Assembly Bill (AB) 649, Chapter 605, Statutes of 2007, added section 
19501to the Business and Professions Code.  Subsection 19501(b)(1) states that the scale of 
minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts shall be increased whenever the State minimum 
wage is increased by the percentage of that increase.  
 
Business and Professions Code section 19501(b)(1) requires an increase in the scale of minimum 
jockey riding fees for losing mounts whenever the State minimum wage is increased by a 
percentage of that increase.  As of January 1, 2016, the California minimum wage rate will 
increase 11.1 percent per hour for all hours worked.  This necessitates the amendment of Board 
Rule 1632, which provides jockey riding fees in the absence of a contract or special agreement 
between the trainer/owner and jockey.  The Board proposes to amend subsection 1632(b) by 
increasing the minimum jockey riding fee for losing mounts by 11.1 percent to comply with 
Business and Professions Code section 19501(b)(1). However, the 11.1 percent increase to the 
losing mount fees causes the losing mount to earn more than the third place mount finishing with 
a gross purse of less than $9,999.  Due to Business and Professions Code section 19501(b)(1), 
the minimum wage increase of January 2016 results in a losing mount earning more than a 
mount coming in second or third place.  This creates a disparity between the non-winning jockey 
riding fees making it more advantageous for a jockey to intentionally lose a race rather than to 
put forth his best effort, thereby compromising the honesty and integrity of a race.  Therefore, 
the Board also proposes to amend the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees to reflect the 11.1 percent 
minimum wage increase for all mounts not sharing in purse monies to ensure these riders receive 
more than losing mounts.  
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 modifies subsection 1632(b) by adjusting the scale of 
jockey riding fees for losing mounts and for all 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross 
purse of $9,999 or less by 11.1 percent. 
 
POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL  
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632(b) increases the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for 
losing mounts by 11.1 percent based on the California minimum wage rate increase that becomes 
effective January 1, 2016.  In addition, the amendment to Rule 1632(b) applies the 11.1 percent 
increase for all 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross purse of $9,999 or less in order to 
balance the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale.  This will eliminate any disparity between 
the non-winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from intentionally losing a race rather 
than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money.  This will increase the public’s 
confidence in California horse racing, which may result in increased wagering.  An increase in 
wagering will have a positive economic impact on the industry by increasing handle, which in 
turn may increase purses and commissions.  The specific benefits anticipated from the regulation 
are compliance with current law and a balanced fee scale which will result in a fair and honest 
race product. 
 
CONSISTENCY EVALUATION 
 
During the process of developing these regulations and amendments, the CHRB has conducted a 
search of any similar regulations on this topic and has concluded that these regulations are 
neither inconsistent nor incompatible with existing state regulations. 



 
DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION/RESULTS OF THE ECONOMIC 
IMPACT ANALYSIS 
 
Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none. 
 
Cost or savings to any state agency: none. 
 
Cost to any local agency or school district that must be reimbursed in accordance with 
Government Code Section 17500 through 17630: none. 
 
Other non-discretionary cost or savings imposed upon local agencies: none. 
 
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: none. 
 
The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not 
have a significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the 
ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states. 
 
The following studies/relevant data were relied upon in making the above determination: none. 
 
Cost impact on representative private persons or businesses:  The Board is not aware of any cost 
impacts that a representative private person or business would necessarily incur in reasonable 
compliance with the proposed action. 
 
Significant effect on housing costs: none. 
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT 
 
The adoption of the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not (1) create or eliminate jobs 
within California; (2) create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; or 
(3) affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within California.  The proposed 
amendment to Rule 1632 is a benefit to the health and welfare of California residents because it 
promotes fairness and compliance with current law.  The proposed regulation will increase the 
losing mounts fee scale to reflect the new California minimum wage increase of 11.1 percent that 
becomes effective January 1, 2016, as required by Business and Professions Code section 
19501(b)(1).  In addition, by applying the 11.1 percent to the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees; 
CHRB will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality.  This will promote the 
public’s interest in a fair and honest race product by eliminating the possibility of a jockey 
intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money.  
Furthermore, by adjusting the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale based on the minimum 
wage increase there may be an increase to consumer spending that in turn may help the overall 
economy in California. 
 
Effect on small businesses: none.  The proposal to amend Rule 1632 does not affect small 
businesses because horse racing associations in California are not classified as small businesses 
under Government Code Section 11342.610. 
 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 



 
In accordance with Government Code Section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must 
determine that no reasonable alternative considered by the Board, or that has otherwise been 
identified and brought to the attention of the Board, would be more effective in carrying out the 
purpose for which the action is proposed, or would be as effective and less burdensome on 
affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost-effective to affected 
private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of 
law. 
 
The Board invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to 
alternatives to the proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during the written comment 
period. 
 
CONTACT PERSON 
 
Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed action and requests for copies of the proposed 
text of the regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulation, if any, 
and other information upon which the rulemaking is based should be directed to: 
 
Nicole Lopes-Gravely, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263-6397 
Fax: (916) 263-6022 
E-mail: nlgravely@chrb.ca.gov 
 
If the person named above is not available, interested parties may contact: 
 
Laurel Houle, Regulation Analyst 
Policy and Regulations 
Telephone: (916) 274-6043 
 
AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND TEXT OF PROPOSED 
REGULATION 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection and copying throughout 
the rulemaking process at its offices at the above address.  As of the date this notice is published 
in the Notice Register, the rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed text of the 
regulation, and the initial statement of reasons.  Copies of these documents, or any of the 
information upon which the proposed rulemaking is based on, may be obtained by contacting 
Nicole Lopes-Gravely, or the alternative contact person at the address, phone number or e-mail 
address listed above. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT 
 
After holding a hearing and considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Board 
may adopt the proposed regulation substantially as described in this notice.  If modifications are 
made which are sufficiently related to the originally proposed text, the modified text, with 
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changes clearly marked, shall be made available to the public for at least 15 days prior to the date 
on which the Board adopts the regulations.  Requests for copies of any modified regulations 
should be sent to the attention of Nicole Lopes-Gravely at the address stated above.  The Board 
will accept written comments on the modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which it is 
made available. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons, which will be available after the Board has 
adopted the proposed regulation in its current or modified form, should be sent to the attention of 
Nicole Lopes-Gravely at the address stated above. 
 
BOARD WEB ACCESS 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection throughout the 
rulemaking process at its web site.  The rulemaking file consists of the notice, the proposed text 
of the regulations and the initial statement of reasons.  The Board’s web site address is: 
www.chrb.ca.gov. 
 
INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
RULE 1632.  JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE. 
 
SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THE REGULATION 
 
The Board proposes to amend Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, to adjust the Non-Winning 
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase 
of 11.1 percent that becomes effective January 1, 2016.   Business and Professions Code section 
19501(b)(1) requires the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts to be increased 
whenever the State minimum wage is increased by the percentage of that increase.  In addition, 
the Board proposes to amend the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale to reflect an increase of 
11.1 percent for the 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross purse of $9,999 or less.  
 
PROBLEM 
 
Assembly Bill (AB) 649, Chapter 605, Statutes of 2007, added section 19501 to the Business and 
Professions Code to require the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for losing mounts to be 
increased whenever the State minimum wage is increased.  Effective January 1, 2016, 
California’s minimum wage rate will increase by 11.1 percent.  However, the 11.1 percent 
increase to the losing mount fees causes the losing mount to earn more than the third place 
mount finishing with a gross purse of $9,999 or less.  This creates a disparity between the non-
winning jockey riding fees and may remove any incentive for a jockey to put forth his best effort.   
 
NECESSITY 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19501(b)(1) requires an increase in the scale of minimum 
jockey riding fees for losing mounts whenever the State minimum wage is increased by a 
percentage of that increase.  As of January 1, 2016, the California minimum wage rate will 
increase  by 11.1 percent per hour for all hours worked.  This necessitates the amendment of 
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Board Rule 1632, which provides jockey riding fees in the absence of a contract or special 
agreement between the trainer/owner and jockey.  The Board proposes to amend subsection 
1632(b) by increasing the minimum jockey riding fee for losing mounts by 11.1 percent to 
comply with Business and Professions Code section 19501(b)(1). However, the 11.1 percent 
increase to the losing mount fees causes the losing mount to earn more than the third place 
mount finishing with a gross purse of less than $9,999.  Due to Business and Professions Code 
section 19501(b)(1), the minimum wage increase of January 2016 results in a losing mount 
earning more than a mount coming in second or third place.  This creates a disparity between the 
non-winning jockey riding fees making it more advantageous for a jockey to intentionally lose a 
race rather than to put forth his best effort, thereby compromising the honesty and integrity of a 
race. Therefore, the Board also proposes to amend the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees to reflect the 
11.1 percent minimum wage increase for all mounts not sharing in purse monies to ensure these 
riders receive more than losing mounts.  
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 modifies subsection 1632(b) by adjusting the scale of 
jockey riding fees for losing mounts and for all 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross 
purse of $9,999 or less by 11.1 percent. 
 
BENEFITS ANTICIPATED FROM THE REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632(b) increases the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for 
losing mounts by 11.1 percent based on the California minimum wage rate increase that will be 
effective January 1, 2016.  In addition, the amendment to Rule 1632(b) applies the 11.1 percent 
increase for all 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross purse of $9,999 or less in order to 
balance the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale.  This will eliminate any disparity between 
the non-winning jockey riding fees and will deter jockeys from intentionally losing a race rather 
than put forth his best effort in order to earn more money.  This will increase the public’s 
confidence in California horse racing, which may result in increased wagering.  An increase in 
wagering will have a positive economic impact on the industry by increasing handle, which in 
turn may increase purses and commissions.  The specific benefits anticipated from the regulation 
are compliance with current law and a balanced fee scale which will result in a fair and honest 
race product. 
 
TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORTS OR 
DOCUMENTS 
 
The Board did not rely on any technical, theoretical, and/or empirical study, reports or 
documents in proposing the amendment of the regulation. 
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT  
 
The results of the Board’s Economic Impact Assessment as required by Government Code 
Section 11346.3(b) are as follows: 
 

• The proposed regulation will not impact the creation or elimination of jobs within the 
State of California. 

• The proposed regulation will not have an impact on the creation of new businesses or the 
elimination of existing businesses in the State of California. 



• The proposed regulation will not have an impact on the expansion of existing businesses 
in the State of California. 

• The proposed regulation will benefit California by promoting the safety and welfare of 
horse and rider and will not benefit the State’s environment. 

 
The Board has made the initial determination that the proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will not 
have a significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the 
ability of California businesses to compete with businesses in other states.  The proposed 
amendment to Rule 1632 will bring the California Horse Racing Board (CHRB) in compliance 
with Business and Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the 
upcoming State minimum wage rate increase of 11.1 percent for losing mounts.  In addition, by 
applying the 11.1 percent to the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees; CHRB will create a balanced fee 
scale and eliminate any inequality.  This regulation will only affect jockeys and owners, and only 
when said parties have not agreed on a fee to be paid to the jockey as specified in a contract or 
written agreement and submitted before the running of a race.  Absent a contract or written 
agreement, the jockey will be paid based on the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale.  The 
proposed amendment to the regulation may encourage out-of-state horsemen to compete in 
California by assuring they will receive proper compensation for losing mounts.  
 
Purpose: 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632, Jockey’s Riding Fee, will adjust the Non-Winning 
Jockey Riding Fee scale for losing mounts to reflect the new California minimum wage increase 
of 11.1 percent that will become effective January 1, 2016.  The purpose of the proposed 
amendment to Rule 1632, subsection (b) is to comply with Business and Professions Code 
section 19501(b)(1) which requires an increase in the scale of minimum jockey riding fees for 
losing mounts whenever the State minimum wage is increased by a percentage of that increase.  
In addition, the proposed amendment to Rule 1632, subsection (b) applies the 11.1 percent 
increase for all 2nd and 3rd place mounts in races with a gross purse of $9,999 or less in order to 
balance the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale.  This will eliminate any disparity between 
the non-winning jockey riding fees.  
 
The Creation or Elimination of Jobs Within the State of California 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and 
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming State 
minimum wage rate increase of 11.1 for losing mounts.  In addition, by applying the 11.1 percent 
to the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees; CHRB will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any 
inequality.  This regulation will only affect jockeys and owners and as such only has an effect on 
horseracing and not any other type of California business.  Therefore, CHRB has determined that 
this regulatory proposal will not have a significant impact on the creation or elimination of jobs 
in the State of California. 
 
The Creation of New Businesses or the Elimination of Existing Businesses within the State of 
California 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and 
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming State 
minimum wage rate increase of 11.1 percent for losing mounts.  In addition, by applying the 11.1 



percent to the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees; CHRB will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate 
any inequality.  This regulation will only affect jockeys and owners and as such only has an 
effect on horseracing and not any other type of California business.  Therefore, CHRB has 
determined this regulatory proposal will not have an impact on the creation of new businesses or 
the elimination of existing businesses in the State of California. 
 
 
 
 
The Expansion of Businesses Currently Doing Business Within the State of California 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 will bring CHRB in compliance with Business and 
Professions Code section 19501 by adjusting the fee scale to reflect the upcoming State 
minimum wage rate increase of 11.1 percent for losing mounts.  In addition, by applying the 11.1 
percent to the 2nd and 3rd place mount fees; CHRB will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate 
any inequality.  This regulation will only affect jockeys and owners, and only when said parties 
have not agreed on a fee to be paid to the jockey as specified in a contract or written agreement 
and submitted before the running of a race.  Absent a contract or written agreement, the jockey 
will be paid based on the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale.  Therefore, CHRB has 
determined that the proposed regulatory action is not relevant to the expansion of businesses 
currently doing business in the State of California. 
 
Benefits of the Regulations to the Health and Welfare of California Residents, Worker Safety, 
and the State’s Environment 
 
The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 is a benefit to the health and welfare of California 
residents because it promotes fairness and compliance with current law.  The proposed regulation 
will increase the losing mounts fee scale to reflect the new California minimum wage increase of 
11.1 percent that will become effective January 1, 2016, as required by Business and Professions 
Code section 19501(b)(1).  In addition, by applying the 11.1 percent to the 2nd and 3rd place 
mount fees; CHRB will create a balanced fee scale and eliminate any inequality.  This will 
promote the public’s interest in a fair and honest race product by eliminating the possibility of a 
jockey intentionally losing a race rather than put forth his best effort in order to earn more 
money.  Furthermore, by adjusting the Non-Winning Jockey Riding Fee scale based on the 
minimum wage increase there may be an increase to consumer spending that in turn may help the 
overall economy in California.  These regulations do not benefit the state’s environment.  
 
ALTERNATIVE TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION THAT WOULD LESSEN 
ANY ADVERSE IMPACT ON AFFECTED PRIVATE PERSONS OR BUSINESSES 
 
The Board has determined that no reasonable alternative it considered or that has otherwise been 
identified and brought to its attention would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for 
which the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private 
persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost-effective to affected private persons and 
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 
 
REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES TO THE PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
 



The proposed amendment to Rule 1632 was discussed at the June 25, 2015, Regular Board 
Meeting.  No alternatives to the recommendation were proposed by the Board or by any other 
individual or entity at the meeting.  No subsequent alternative recommendations were made prior 
to the notice.  The Board invites any interested party to submit comments which offer any 
alternative proposal. 
 
 
California Horse Racing Board 
August 7, 2015 
 

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

ARTICLE 6. ENTRIES AND DECLARATIONS 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO 

RULE 1632.  JOCKEY’S RIDING FEE 
 

 
1632.  Jockey's Riding Fee. 
 

(a) Winning jockey riding fees in the absence of a contract or special agreement are: 
 
GROSS PURSE Winning Mount 
$100,000 and up: . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
    50,000-99,999: . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
    25,000-49,999: . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
    15,000-24,999: . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
    10,000-14,999: . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
      5,000-9,999: . . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
      3,500-4,999: . . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
      2,000-3,499: . . . . . 10% of Win Purse 
      1,500-1,999: . . .  10% of Win Purse 
 
 
 

(1) The purpose of subsection (a) is not to set a minimum or maximum fee.  It provides a 

fee if the parties have not made a written agreement to the contrary. 

(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (a) are payable in the lower purse range until the next 

higher purse range is reached, unless there is a written agreement to the contrary. 

 (b) Non-winning jockey riding fees are: 

GROSS PURSE 2nd Mount 3rd Mount Losing Mount 
$100,000 and up: . . . . 5% of Place Purse, 

plus $10.00  
5% of Show Purse, 
plus $10.00  

$151.88 $168.74 

50,000-99,999: . . . . 5% of Place Purse, 
plus $10.00  

5% of Show Purse, 
plus $10.00  

    123.75  137.49 

25,000-49,999: . . . . 5% of Place Purse, 
plus $10.00  

5% of Show Purse, 
plus $10.00  

    106.88   118.74 

15,000-24,999: . . . . 5% of Place Purse, 5% of Show Purse,     95.63  106.24 



plus $10.00  plus $10.00  
10,000-14,999: . . . . 5% of Place Purse, 

plus $10.00 
5% of Show Purse, 
plus $10.00  

    90.00  99.99 

5,000-9,999: . . . . . $101.25 $112.49 $86.63  96.25     84.38  93.75 
3,500-4,999: . . . . .   90.00  99.99   78.75  87.49 73.13  81.25 
2,000-3,499: . . . . .   78.75  87.49   73.13  81.25 70.88  78.75 
1,500-1,999: . . . . .   67.50  74.99   65.25  72.49     65.25  72.49 
    
 
 

(1) The purpose of subsection (b) is to set a minimum, but not a maximum riding fee.  No 

non-winning jockey shall be paid less than the riding fee set forth in subsection (b). 

(2) All fees pursuant to subsection (b) are payable in the lower purse range until the next 

higher purse range is reached unless there is a written agreement to the contrary.  However, no 

such written agreement shall reduce the minimum required by subsection (b). 

(c) A jockey's fee is considered earned when the jockey is weighed out by the clerk of 

scales.  The fee shall not be considered earned if the jockey elects to take himself off of his 

mount.  If there is a substitution of jockeys, no additional jockey fee or double jockey fee need 

be paid except when ordered by the stewards.  

(d) In this rule "Win Purse" means the amount paid the winning horse less the fees paid 

exclusively by the owner to enter the horse in the race; 

(1) Entry, nomination or other fees paid shall not be deducted from a jockey riding fee if 

such fees are paid or reimbursed by any person or entity other than the owner. 

(e) If the parties agree on the fee to be paid the jockey, a contract or agreement in writing 

signed by the jockey or his agent and the owner or his authorized agent specifying the agreed 

upon fee if a winning mount, second place mount, third place mount and losing mount shall be 

delivered to the paymaster of purses before the running of the race in question. The paymaster of 

purses shall debit the owner's purse account under the contract or written agreement. If no 

contract or written agreement is submitted before the running of the race in question, the 

paymaster of purses shall debit the owner's purse account under the fee scale set forth in this 



rule.  

(f) A jockey may not share in the fees of another jockey. 

 

Authority:   Sections 19440, 19501 and 19562,  
Business and Professions Code.   

Reference:  Sections 19401 (a), 19401(d), 19420, 19440, 19501, and 19502,  
Business and Professions Code. 

 
 
 
 


