
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD - RULES NOTICED TO THE PUBLIC: 
 
NOTE: Government Code section 11340.85 requires the Board to post all notices, initial statement of reasons 
and texts of rules noticed to the public until 15 days after the proposed regulations are filed with the 
Secretary of State by the Office of Administrative Law.  
 
 

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4, DIVISION 4, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO AMEND  

RULE 1663, ENTRY OF CLAIMED HORSE 
 
The California Horse Racing Board (Board) proposes to amend the regulation described below after considering 
all comments, objections or recommendations regarding the proposed action. 
 
PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The Board proposes to amend Rule 1663, Entry of Claimed Horse, to provide that if a horse is entered in a 
claiming race within 25 days of being claimed: 1) A horse that won the claiming race from which it was 
claimed shall start in a claiming race for at least 25 percent more than the price at which it was claimed, and 2) 
A horse that did not win the claiming race from which it was claimed shall start at a price equal to, or greater 
than, the price at which it was claimed.  The proposed amendment will also delete the current subsections 
1663(b) and (b)(1).   
 
PUBLIC HEARING 
 
The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, April 26, 2012, or as soon after that as 
business before the Board will permit, at the Hollywood Park Race Track, 1050 South Prairie Avenue, 
Inglewood, California.  At the hearing, any person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing 
about the proposed action described in the informative digest.  It is requested, but not required, that persons 
making oral comments at the hearing submit a written copy of their testimony. 
 
WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
 
Any interested persons, or their authorized representative, may submit written comments about the proposed 
regulatory action to the Board.  The written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m. on April 23, 2012.  The Board 
must receive all comments at that time; however, written comments may still be submitted at the public hearing.  
Submit comments to: 
 
Harold Coburn, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263-6397 
Fax: (916) 263-6022 



E-mail: HaroldC@chrb.ca.gov 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
 
Authority cited: Sections 19420 and 19440, Business and Professions Code.  Reference:  Section 19562, 
Business and Professions Code. 
Business and Professions Code sections 19420 and 19440 authorize the Board to adopt the proposed regulation, 
which would implement, interpret or make specific section 19562, Business and Professions Code. 
 
INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19420 provides that jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in this 
state where horse races with wagering on their results are held or conducted, and over all persons or things 
having to do with the operation of such meetings, is vested in the California Horse Racing Board.  Business and 
Professions Code section 19440 states the Board shall have all powers necessary and proper to enable it to carry 
out fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter.  Responsibilities of the Board shall include, but not be 
limited to: adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the control of horse racing and 
pari-mutuel wagering.  Business and Professions Code section 19562 provides that the Board may prescribe 
rules, regulations, and conditions, consistent with the provisions of this chapter, under which all horse races 
with wagering on their results shall be conducted in this state.    
 
A claiming race is a race in which any of the horses entered may be purchased (claimed) out of the race by any 
person who is eligible to claim a horse at that meeting.  Eligible persons are licensed horse owners or persons 
who hold “horse owner by open claim” certificates.  To claim a horse, the interested party must ensure 
sufficient funds are on deposit with the paymaster of purses at the track where the horse is to be claimed.  In 
addition, the interested party must properly complete a claim form that has to be dropped into the claiming box 
within a specified time.  The moment the gate opens the person who has claimed the horse becomes its owner.  
However, if the horse wins the race or earns money, the money goes to the owner who entered it in the race.  If 
more than one person has put in a claim for the same horse, they “shake” for it (draw lots).  The person who 
wins the shake becomes the owner. 
 
The Board proposes to amend Rule 1663 to modify the conditions under which a horse claimed in a claiming 
race may start in another claiming race within 25 days of the original claim.  Rule 1663 currently states that any 
horse that starts in a claiming race within 25 days of being claimed shall run for a price that is at least 25 
percent more than the price at which it was claimed.  The required 25 percent increase in the claiming price 
within 25 days of being claimed is known as “jail time”.  This is because not all claimed horses are capable of 
running in a higher level race, so they are often kept in the barn until the 25-day period is ended.  Some form of 
this prohibition is in effect in most horseracing jurisdictions.  The proposed amendment would add a new 
subsection 1663(b) and (b)(1) to provide that if a claimed horse is entered in a claiming race within 25 days of 
being claimed, and it won the race from which it was claimed, it shall start for at least 25 percent more than the 
amount for which it was claimed.  This will have the effect of requiring only winning claimed horses to run in a 
subsequent claiming race (within 25 days of being claimed) for an amount greater than the price at which they 
were claimed.  This will release all other claimed horses to run in accordance with a new subsection 1663(b)(2), 
which provides that a horse that did not win the claiming race from which it was claimed shall start in another 
claiming race within 25 days of the date it was claimed for the same amount at which it was claimed, or more.  
This means that within 25 days of being claimed, the horse does not have to run back at an increased price, and 
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may start in a claiming race for at least the same price at which it was previously claimed.  At the end of the 25 
day jail time, all claimed horses may be entered in a claiming race for any price.  This is current practice, and it 
will continue as such. 
 
The Board believes the proposed amendment to Rule 1663 will encourage trainers to run claimed horses back 
sooner, rather than leaving the horses in barns for weeks at a time.  Many trainers currently wait-out the 25 day 
period because they do not believe the horses they claimed would be able to compete in a higher level claiming 
race.  The proposed amendment may help racing associations by increasing the number of horses available to 
race, which will increase the fields (number of horses in a race) and provide more wagering opportunities.  In 
turn, the entire industry would benefit because increased wagering opportunities result in a larger handle, which 
provides income to the tracks and horsemen in the form of commissions and purses.  (The handle is the total 
amount wagered on a race, a portion of which is reserved by statute for track commissions and purses).       
 
The proposed amendment will delete the current subsection 1663(b) because the industry believes the 60-day 
jail time is unnecessary and burdensome.  The Board agreed with the industry and has temporarily suspended 
the subsection by applying the provisions of Board Rule 1406, Suspension of Rule.  In addition, the current 
subsection 1663(b)(1) has been deleted, as the proposed elimination of the current subsection 1663(b) 
eliminates the need for the California Fair Circuit to be considered one race meeting for the purposes of 
claiming.  This will allow horsemen to freely move horses claimed in California to other states for racing 
purposes.      
 
POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all powers necessary and 
proper to enable it to carry out fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter.  Responsibilities of the Board 
shall include adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the control of horse racing and 
pari-mutuel wagering.  By amending Rule 1663 the Board will honor its commitment to the continued 
economic health and well being of California’s horseracing industry.  It is anticipated that the amendment of 
Rule 1663 will free trainers and owners to enter claimed horses in upcoming claiming races that are equal in 
value to the race from which they were claimed, rather than having to withhold such horses until the traditional 
25-day jail time has lapsed.  The benefit of running horses back sooner is that racing associations will have 
fewer problems filling races.  Full races result in more wagering activity from California residents and out-of-
state horseracing fans.  Increased wagering translates to higher purses and commissions.  The ability to run back 
a claimed horse within 25-days of the claim will encourage trainers to keep such horses in California, which 
will benefit the entire industry.  A healthy horseracing industry benefits the communities in which California 
racetracks are located, and promotes agriculture and breeding of horses in this State. 
 
Consistency with existing state regulations: The Board does not believe that the proposed regulation is 
inconsistent or incompatible with existing state regulations. 
 
DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION 
 
Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none. 
 
Cost or savings to any state agency: none. 
 



Cost to any local agency or school district that must be reimbursed in accordance with Government Code 
Sections 17500 through 17630: none. 
 
Other non-discretionary cost or savings imposed upon local agencies: none. 
 
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: none. 
 
The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed amendment to Rule 1663 will not have a 
significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the ability of California 
businesses to compete with businesses in other states. 
 
The following studies/relevant data were relied upon in making the above determination: none. 
 
Cost impact on representative private persons or businesses:  The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a 
representative private person or business would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed 
action. 
 
Significant effect on housing costs: none. 
 
The adoption of the proposed amendment to Rule 1663 will not (1) create or eliminate jobs within California; 
(2) create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; or (3) affect the expansion of 
businesses currently doing business within California. 
This regulation will have a positive effect on the economic health of California’s horseracing industry by 
allowing claimed horses to run-back in claiming races of equal or greater value as soon as the trainer or owner 
believes the horse is ready to compete.  This will help the industry fill claiming races, and potentially increase 
commissions and purses.  
 
Effect on small businesses: none.  The proposal to amend Rule 1663 does not affect small businesses because 
horse racing associations in California are not classified as small businesses under Government Code Section 
11342.610.  Rule 1663 states the conditions under which a horse claimed out of a claiming race may start in a 
subsequent race, and may be run back in a claiming race or run out-of-state.  The regulation also provides the 
conditions under which a claimed horse may be removed from the grounds of the racing association where it 
was claimed. 
 
RESULTS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 
 
The results of the Board’s Economic Impact Assessment as required by Government Code section 11346.3(b) 
are as follows: 
 
There will be no impact on the creation or elimination of jobs within the state, the creation of new businesses or 
the elimination of existing businesses or the expansion of businesses in California.  However, the proposed 
regulation will have a positive effect on the economic health of California’s horseracing industry by allowing 
claimed horses to run-back in claiming races of equal or greater value as soon as the trainer or owner believes 
the horse is ready to compete.  This will help the industry fill claiming races, and potentially increase 
commissions and purses in some instances.  
 



There will be no benefits to the health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, and the state’s 
environment. 
 
CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 
 
In accordance with Government Code Section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must determine that no 
reasonable alternative considered by the Board, or that has otherwise been identified and brought to the 
attention of the Board, would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed, or 
would be as effective and less burdensome on affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be 
more cost-effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or 
other provisions of law. 
 
The Board invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to alternatives to the 
proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during the written comment period. 
 
CONTACT PERSONS 
 
Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed action and requests for copies of the proposed text of the 
regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulation, if any, and other information 
upon which the rulemaking is based should be directed to: 
 
Harold Coburn, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263-6397 
E-mail: HaroldC@chrb.ca.gov 
 
If the person named above is not available, interested parties may contact: 
 
Andrea Ogden, Regulation Analyst 
Telephone: (916) 274-6033 
 
AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATION 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection and copying throughout the rulemaking 
process at its offices at the above address.  As of the date this notice is published in the Notice Register, the 
rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed text of the regulation, and the initial statement of reasons.  
Copies may be obtained by contacting Harold Coburn, or the alternate contact person at the address, phone 
number or e-mail address listed above. 
 
AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT 
 
After holding a hearing and considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Board may adopt the 
proposed regulation substantially as described in this notice.  If modifications are made which are sufficiently 
related to the originally proposed text, the modified text, with changes clearly marked, shall be made available 
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to the public for at least 15 days prior to the date on which the Board adopts the regulations.  Requests for 
copies of any modified regulations should be sent to the attention of Harold Coburn at the address stated above.  
The Board will accept written comments on the modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which it is 
made available.   
AVAILABILITY OF FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons, which will be available after the Board has adopted the 
proposed regulation in its current or modified form, should be sent to the attention of Harold Coburn at the 
address stated above. 
 
BOARD WEB ACCESS 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection throughout the rulemaking process at its 
website.  The rulemaking file consists of the notice, the proposed text of the regulations and the initial statement 
of reasons.  The Board’s website address is: www.chrb.ca.gov. 
 
 

CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4. CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

ARTICLE 7. CLAIMING RACES 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF  

RULE 1663, ENTRY OF CLAIMED HORSE 
 
 

1663. Entry of Claimed Horse. 
 

(a) A horse claimed out of a claiming race is eligible to race at any racing association in California 

immediately after being claimed.   

 (b) If a claimed horse is entered in a claiming race within 25 days of being claimed: 

(1) The horse that won the claiming race from which it was claimed shall start for at least 25 percent 

more is not eligible to start in a claiming race for 25 days after the date of the claim for less than 25% more than 

the amount for which it was claimed. 

(2) A horse that did not win the claiming race from which it was claimed shall start for at least the same 

amount for which it was claimed.  

(b) A horse claimed out of a claiming race is not eligible to race in any State other than California until 

60 days after the close of the meeting from where it was claimed except in a stakes race. 
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(1) For the purposes of this rule, the California Fair Circuit shall be considered one meeting. 

(c) A claimed horse may be removed from the grounds of the association where it was claimed for non-

racing purposes. 

(d) The provisions of subsection (a) of this rule do not apply to standardbred horses. 

Authority: Sections 19420, and 19440, 
  Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 19562, 
  Business and Professions Code. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 
TITLE 4, DIVISION 4, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSAL TO AMEND 

RULE 1843.3. PENALTIES FOR MEDICATION VIOLATIONS 
 
The California Horse Racing Board (Board/CHRB) proposes to amend the regulation described below after 
considering all comments, objections or recommendations regarding the proposed action. 
 
PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
 
The Board proposes to amend Rule 1843.3, Penalties for Medication Violations, to change the time periods 
associated with penalty guidelines for Category “B” Penalties.  The time period for second offense Category 
“B” violations will change from 365 days to two years and for third offense Category “B” violations the time 
period will change from 365 days to five years.   
 
PUBLIC HEARING 
 
The Board will hold a public hearing starting at 9:30 a.m., Thursday, April 26, 2012, or as soon after that as 
business before the Board will permit, at the D Hollywood Park Race Track, 1050 South Prairie Avenue, 
Inglewood, California.  At the hearing, any person may present statements or arguments orally or in writing 
about the proposed action described in the informative digest.  It is requested, but not required, that persons 
making oral comments at the hearing submit a written copy of their testimony.  
 
WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
 
Any interested persons, or their authorized representative, may submit written comments about the proposed 
regulatory action to the Board.  The written comment period closes at 5:00 p.m., on April 23, 2012.  The Board 
must receive all comments at that time; however, written comments may still be submitted at the public hearing.  
Submit comments to: 
 
Harold Coburn, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone (916) 263-6397 
Fax: (916) 263-6042 
E-Mail: HaroldC@chrb.ca.gov 
 
AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
 
Authority cited: Sections 19440, 19461 and 19580, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 19461, 19580, 
19581 and 19582, Business and Professions Code, and section 11425.50, Government Code.  
 



Business and Professions Code sections 19440, 19461 and 19580 authorize the Board to adopt the proposed 
regulation, which would implement, interpret or make specific sections 19461, 19580, 19581 and 19582, 
Business and Professions Code, and section 11425.50, Government Code. 
 
INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19440 provides that the Board shall have all powers necessary and 
proper to enable it to carry out fully and effectually the purposes of this chapter.  Responsibilities of the Board 
shall include adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the control of horse racing and 
pari-mutuel wagering.  Business and Professions Code section 19461 states every license granted under this 
chapter is subject to suspension or revocation by the Board in any case where the Board has reason to believe 
that any condition regarding it has not been complied with, or that any law, or any rule or regulation of the 
Board affecting it has been broken or violated.  Business and Professions Code section 19580 provides the 
Board shall adopt regulations to establish policies, guidelines, and penalties relating to equine medication in 
order to preserve and enhance the integrity of horse racing in the state.  Those policies, guidelines and penalties 
shall include, at a minimum, the provisions set forth in this article.   Business and Professions Code section 
19581 states no substance of any kind shall be administered by any means to a horse after it has been entered to 
race in a horse race, unless the Board has, by regulation, specifically authorized the use of the substance and the 
quantity and the composition thereof.  Business and Professions Code section 19582 states violations of section 
19581, as determined by the Board are punishable as set forth in regulations adopted by the Board.  The Board 
may classify violations of section 19581 based on each class of prohibited drug substances, prior violations 
within the previous three years, and prior violations within the violator’s lifetime. The Board may provide for 
the suspension of a license for not more than three years, except as provided in subdivision (b), or a monetary 
penalty of not more than one hundred thousand dollars, or both, and disqualification from purses, for a violation 
of section 19581.  The actual amount of the monetary penalty imposed pursuant to this paragraph shall be 
determined only after due consideration has been given to all the facts, circumstances, acts, and intent of the 
licensee, and shall not be solely based on the trainer-insurer rule, as established in section 1843 and 1887 of 
Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations.  The punishment for second and subsequent violations of section 
19581 shall be greater than the punishment for a first violation of section 19581 with respect to each class of 
prohibited drug substances, unless the administrative law judge, in findings of fact and conclusions of law filed 
with the Board, concludes that a deviation from this general rule is justified.  A third violation of section 19581 
during the lifetime of the licensee, determined by the Board to be at a class I or class II level, may result in the 
permanent revocation of the person’s license.  The administrative law judge shall, after consideration of the 
circumstances surrounding a violation specified in paragraph (1), file a decision with the Board that includes 
findings of fact and conclusions of law.  Any person whose license is suspended or revoked pursuant to this 
section shall not be entitled to receive any material benefit or remuneration in any capacity or from any business 
activity permitted or allowed by the license during any period of its suspension or revocation.  The penalties 
provided by this section are in addition to any other civil, criminal, and administrative penalties or sanctions 
provided by law, and do not supplant, but are cumulative to, other penalties or sanctions. Business and 
Professions Code section 19461 provides that every license granted under this chapter is subject to suspension 
or revocation by the Board in any case where the Board has reason to believe that any condition regarding it has 
not been complied with, or that any law, or any rule or regulation of the Board affecting it has been broken or 
violated.  All proceedings to revoke a license shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 of Part 1 of 
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.  Government Code section 11425.50 states the decision shall be 
in writing and shall include a statement of the factual and legal basis for the decision.   
 



The Board proposes to amend Rule 1843.3 to change the time periods for Category “B” medication violations in 
cases of an owner’s or trainer’s second and third offense.  The Rule currently provides for increased penalties if 
a second offense occurs within 365 days of a first offense, or a third offense occurs within 365 days of a second 
offense.  The Board believes it is necessary to lengthen the period of time within which licensees may receive 
increased penalties for second and third Category “B” medication violations because it is possible to have 
multiple violations over a long period of time, and still only receive a minimum 30-day suspension under the 
Category “B” first offense.  This is because there is only a 365-day period in which a subsequent Class “B” 
violation may result in an increased penalty.  The proposed amendment to Rule 1843.3 will allow the Board to 
give appropriate penalties for repeat offenders by increasing the time period between offenses.  The current 
365-day period for a second Category “B” offense will be changed to two years, and the current 365-day period 
for a third offense will be changed to five years.  The proposed increase in penalty time periods between 
violations does not mean persons with second or third offenses will automatically receive harsher penalties.  
Rule 1843.3(a) requires the Board of Stewards, the hearing officer or the administrative law judge to consider 
mitigating circumstances, as well as the penalties set forth in the regulation.  If the hearing officer determines 
there are mitigating circumstances, deviation from the penalty guidelines may be appropriate, including lesser 
or no penalty.  Lengthening the periods of time associated with second and third Category “B” medication 
violations simply provides the Board with more flexibility in considering the appropriate penalties for licensees 
who display a pattern of medication violations over time.  The Board’s proposal to amend Rule 1843.3 is also in 
line with the recommendation of the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium (RMTC) recommendations.  
In August 2011 the RMTC board of directors adopted a recommendation to change the current 365-day period 
for Category “B” prohibited drugs to within two years in any jurisdiction for a second violation and within a 
five-year period in any jurisdiction for a third violation.  The RMTC consists of 25 racing industry stakeholders 
and organizations that represent thoroughbred, standardbred, American Quarter Horse and Arabian racing.  The 
organization works to develop and promote uniform rules, policies and testing standards at the national level.  
While the RMTC’s recommendations are not binding, the CHRB endorses the uniformity of regulations that 
seek to ensure the integrity of racing and the health and welfare of racehorses and participants, as well as the 
interests of the racing public. 
 
POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW OF ANTICIPATED BENEFITS OF PROPOSAL 
 
Business and Professions Code section 19440 states that jurisdiction and supervision over meetings in this state 
where horse races with wagering on their results are held or conducted, or over all persons or things having to 
do with the operation of such meetings, is vested in the CHRB.  The principal responsibilities of the Board 
include adopting rules and regulations for the protection of the public and the control of horseracing and pari-
mutuel wagering, as well as administration and enforcement of all laws, rules and regulations affecting 
horseracing and pari-mutuel wagering.  The proposed amendment of Rule 1843.3 will change the time periods 
associated with penalty guidelines for Category “B” Penalties.  The time period for second offense Category 
“B” violations will change from 365 days to three years and for third offense Category “B” violations the time 
period will change from 365 days to five years.  These changes will have several benefits for California’s 
horseracing industry.  Lengthening the time periods under which repeat offenders may receive enhanced 
penalties for Class “B” medication violations promotes fairness in that licensees who may have one or two 
Class “B” violations during their entire career will not face the same penalties as a licensee who has a history of 
multiple drug violations over the space of a couple years.  In addition, enhanced periods of suspension may act 
as a deterrent, which would level the playing field for the wagering public.   The proposed amendment to Rule 
1843.3 would also promote worker safety for jockeys, grooms and stable employees who work closely with 
horses.  



Consistency with Existing State Regulations: The Board does not believe that the proposed regulation is 
inconsistent or incompatible with existing state regulations. 
 
DISCLOSURE REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION 
 
Mandate on local agencies and school districts: none. 
 
Cost or savings to any state agency: none. 
 
Cost to any local agency or school district that must be reimbursed in accordance with Government Code 
Sections 17500 through 17630: none. 
 
Other non-discretionary costs or savings imposed upon local agencies: none. 
 
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: none. 
 
The Board has made an initial determination that the proposed amendment of Rule 1843.3 will not have a 
significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business including the ability of California 
businesses to compete with businesses in other states. 
 
The following studies/relevant data were relied upon in making the above determination: none. 
 
Cost impact on representative private persons or businesses: The Board is not aware of any cost impacts that a 
representative private person or business would necessarily incur in reasonable compliance with the proposed 
action.   
 
Significant effect on housing costs: none. 
 
The adoption of the proposed amendment of Rule 1843.3 will not (1) create or eliminate jobs within California; 
(2) create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; or (3) affect the expansion of 
businesses currently doing business within California. 
Lengthening the time periods under which repeat offenders may receive enhanced penalties for Class “B” 
medication violations promotes fairness in that licensees who may have one or two Class “B” violations during 
their entire career will not face the same penalties as a licensee who has a history of multiple drug violations 
over the space of a couple years.  In addition, enhanced periods of suspension may act as a deterrent, which 
would level the playing field for the wagering public.   The proposed amendment to Rule 1843.3 would also 
promote worker safety for jockeys, grooms and stable employees who work closely with horses. This regulation 
will have act as a deterrent to those who might attempt to gain an advantage by the unauthorized use of 
medication and drug substances.  The economic success of horseracing is dependent on its ability to ensure the 
integrity of the sport.   
 
Effect on small businesses: none.  The proposal to amend Rule 1843.3 does not affect small businesses because 
horse racing is not a small business under Government Code Section 11342.610.  Rule 1843.3 provides penalty 
guidelines for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample. 
 
 



CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 
 
In accordance with Government Code Section 11346.5, subdivision (a)(13), the Board must determine that no 
reasonable alternative considered by the Board, or that has otherwise been identified and brought to the 
attention of the Board, would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the action is proposed, or 
would be as effective and less burdensome on affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be 
more cost-effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or 
other provision of law.   
 
The Board invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to alternatives to the 
proposed regulation at the scheduled hearing or during the written comment period. 
 
CONTACT PERSON 
 
Inquiries concerning the substance of the proposed action and requests for copies of the proposed text of the 
regulation, the initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulation, if any, and other information 
upon which the rulemaking is based should be directed to: 
 
Harold Coburn, Regulation Analyst 
California Horse Racing Board 
1010 Hurley Way, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA 95825 
Telephone: (916) 263-6397 
E-mail: haroldc@chrb.ca.gov 
 
If the person named above is not available, interested parties may contact: 
 
Andrea Ogden, 
Regulation Analyst 
Telephone: (916) 263-6033 
 
AVAILABILITY OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS AND TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATION 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection and copying throughout the rulemaking 
process at its offices at the above address.  As of the date this notice is published in the Notice Register, the 
rulemaking file consists of this notice, the proposed text of the regulation, and the initial statement of reasons.  
Copies may be obtained by contacting Harold Coburn, or the alternative contact person at the address, phone 
number or e-mail address listed above.   
 
AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED TEXT 
 
After holding a hearing and considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Board may adopt the 
proposed regulations substantially as described in this notice.  If modifications are made which are sufficiently 
related to the originally proposed texts, the modified texts, with changes clearly marked, shall be made available 
to the public for at least 15 days prior to the date on which the Board adopts the regulations.  Requests for 
copies of any modified regulations should be sent to the attention of Harold Coburn at the address stated above.  
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The Board will accept written comments on the modified regulation for 15 days after the date on which it is 
made available.   
 
AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS: 
 
Requests for copies of the final statement of reasons, which will be made available after the Board has adopted 
the proposed regulations in their current or modified form, should be sent to the attention of Harold Coburn at 
the address stated above.   
 
BOARD WEB ACCESS 
 
The Board will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection throughout the rulemaking process at its 
web site.  The rulemaking file consists of the notice, the proposed text of the regulation and the initial statement 
of reasons.  The Board’s web site address is: www.chrb.ca.gov. 
 
 

http://www.chrb.ca.gov/


 
CALIFORNIA HORSE RACING BOARD 

TITLE 4, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
ARTICLE 15, VETERINARY PRACTICES 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT OF 
RULE 1843.3. PENALTIES FOR MEDICATION VIOLATIONS 

 
 

 
1843.3. Penalties for Medication Violations. 
 

(a) In reaching a decision on a penalty for a violation of Business and Professions Code section 19581, 

the Board, the board of stewards, the hearing officer or the administrative law judge shall consider the 

penalties set forth in subsections (d) and (e) of this Rule and any aggravating and mitigating 

circumstances.  Deviation from these penalties is appropriate where the facts of the particular case 

warrant such a deviation, for example: there may be mitigating circumstances for which a lesser or no 

penalty is appropriate, and aggravating factors may increase the penalties beyond the minimum.  

(b) Mitigating circumstances and aggravating factors, which must be considered, include but are not 

limited to: 

(1) The past record of the licensee regarding violations of Business and Professions Code section 

19581; 

(2) The potential of the drug(s) to influence a horse’s racing performance; 

(3) The legal availability of the drug; 

(4) Whether there is reason to believe the responsible party knew of the administration of the 

drug or intentionally administered the drug; 

(5) The steps taken by the trainer to safeguard the horse; 

(6) The steps taken by an owner to safeguard against subsequent medication violations including, 

but not limited to, the transfer of the horse(s) to an unaffiliated trainer; 



(A) For the purpose of this regulation “unaffiliated trainer” means a trainer or an assistant trainer 

who is not related by blood, marriage or domestic partnership, or who is not or was never employed by the 

trainer from whose care such horse(s) were transferred. 

(7) The probability of environmental contamination or inadvertent exposure due to human drug 

use or other factors; 

(8) The purse of the race; 

(9) Whether the drug found to be present in the official test sample was one for which the horse 

was receiving treatment as determined through the process described in Rule 1842 of this division; 

(10) Whether there was any suspicious wagering pattern on the race; 

(11) Whether the licensed trainer was acting under the advice of a licensed veterinarian. 

(c) For the purpose of this regulation, the Board shall consider the classification of a drug substance as 

referred to in Rule 1843.2 of this division and the California Horse Racing Board (CHRB) Penalty Categories 

Listing By Classification, (1/08), which is hereby incorporated by reference, if a determination is made that an 

official test sample from a horse contained: 

(1) Any drug substance, medication, metabolites or analogues thereof foreign to the horse, whose use is not 

expressly authorized in this division, or 

(2) Any drug substance, medication or chemical authorized by this article in excess of the authorized level 

or other restrictions as set forth in the article. 

 (d) Penalties for violation of each classification level are as follows: 



  

CATEGORY “A” PENALTIES 
 
Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which CHRB drug classification is 
categorized as warranting a Category A penalty are as follows: 
 
LICENSED TRAINER: 
1st offense 2nd  LIFETIME offense 3rd LIFETIME offense 
◦   Minimum one - year suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of a three-year 
suspension. 
 
AND 

◦   Minimum two-year suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of a three-year 
suspension.  
 
AND 
 

◦   Minimum three -year suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of permanent license 
revocation.  

 
AND 

◦   Minimum fine of $10,000 or 10% of 
gross purse (greater of the two) absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of $25,000 or 
25% of purse (greater of the two). 
AND 
 

◦   Minimum fine of $20,000 or 25% of 
gross purse (greater of the two) absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of  $50,000 or 
50% of purse (greater of the two). 
AND 

◦   Minimum fine of $25,000 or 50% of 
gross purse (greater of the two) absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of $100,000 or 100% 
of purse (greater of the two). 
 
AND 

◦   May be referred to the Board for any 
further action deemed necessary by the 
Board.  

◦   May be referred to the Board for any 
further action deemed necessary by the 
Board. 

◦   May be referred to the Board for any 
further action deemed necessary by the 
Board.   

LICENSED OWNER: 
1st offense 2nd  LIFETIME offense in owner’s        

stable 
3rd LIFETIME offense in owner’s stable 

◦   Disqualification of horse and loss of 
purse. 

 
AND 

◦   Disqualification of horse and loss of 
purse. 

 
AND 

◦   Disqualification of horse, loss of purse 
and absent mitigating circumstances, 
minimum fine of $10,000.  The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of $50,000. 
 
AND 
 

◦   Horse may be placed on the 
veterinarian’s list for up to 90 days and 
must pass a Board - approved examination 
pursuant to Rule 1846 before becoming 
eligible to be entered. 
 

AND 
 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the owner’s 
expense and be negative for prohibited 
drug substances as defined in Rule 1843.1. 

 

◦   Horse shall be placed on the 
veterinarian’s list for up to 120 days and 
must pass a Board - approved examination 
pursuant to Rule 1846 before becoming 
eligible to be entered. 

 
AND 

 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the owner’s 
expense and be negative for prohibited 
drug substances as defined in Rule 1843.1. 

 

◦   Horse shall be placed on the 
veterinarian’s list for up to 180 days and 
must pass a Board-approved examination 
pursuant to Rule 1846 before becoming 
eligible to be entered. 

 
AND 

 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the owner’s 
expense and be negative for prohibited 
drug substances as defined in Rule 1843.1. 
AND 
 

◦   Referral to the Board with a 
recommendation of a suspension of owners 

license for a minimum of 90 days. 

 



  

 
CATEGORY “B” PENALTIES 
 
Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which CHRB drug 
classification is categorized as warranting a Category B penalty are as follows: 
 
LICENSED TRAINER: 
1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period 

two years.) 
3rd offense (365-day period five years) 

◦   Minimum 30 -day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a 
60-day suspension. 

AND/OR 
 

◦   Minimum 60-day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances. 
The presence of aggravating 
factors could be used to impose a 
maximum of a 180-day suspension. 
AND/OR 

◦   Minimum 90-day suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of a one-year 
suspension. 
AND/OR 

◦   Minimum fine of $500 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors 
could be used to impose a 
maximum fine of $10,000. 
 
 

◦   Minimum fine of $1,000 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum fine of 
$20,000. 
 

◦   Minimum fine of $2,500 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of $50,000 or 
10% of purse (greater of the two). 
AND 
◦   May be referred to the Board for any 
further action deemed necessary by the 
Board. 

 
 

  

LICENSED OWNER: 
1st offense 2nd offense in stable (365-day period 

two years.) 
3rd offense in stable (365-day period 
five years.) 

◦   Disqualification of horse and 
loss of purse. 
AND 

◦   Disqualification of horse and loss 
of purse. 
AND 

◦   Disqualification of horse, loss of 
purse and absent mitigating 
circumstances minimum fine of $5,000. 
The presence of aggravating factors 
could be used to impose a maximum 
fine of $20,000. 

AND 
◦   Horse must pass a Board-approved 
examination pursuant to Rule 1846 
before becoming eligible to be 
entered.  
 
AND 
 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the 
owner’s expense and be negative 
for prohibited drug substances as 
defined in Rule 1843.1. 

 

◦   Horse must pass a Board-approved 
examination pursuant to Rule 1846 
before becoming eligible to be 
entered.  
 

AND 
 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the 
owner’s expense and be negative 
for prohibited drug substances as 
defined in Rule 1843.1. 
 
 
 

 

◦   Horse shall be placed on the 
veterinarian’s list for up to 45 days and 
must pass a Board-approved 
examination pursuant to Rule 1846 
before becoming eligible to be entered.  
 

AND 
 
◦ Be subject to drug testing at the 
owner’s expense and be negative for 
prohibited drug substances as 
defined in Rule 1843.1. 

 

 
 



  

CATEGORY “B” PENALTIES FOR RULE 1843.6 TOTAL CARBON DIOXIDE (TCO2) TESTING  
 

Penalties for violations due to exceeding permitted levels of TCO2 as defined in Rule 1843.6 are as set forth 
below. All concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma. 

 
 
 
 

LICENSED TRAINER:  
 

 
 

1st offense TCO2 (> 37.0mml/l-
<39mml/l) 

2nd  offense TCO2 ( > 37.0mml/l-
<39mml/l) 

3rd offense TCO2 (> 37.0mml/l-
<39mml/l) 

◦   Up to a 30-day suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a 
60-day suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 

◦ Minimum fine of $1,500 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum fine 
of $5,000. 
 

◦   Minimum 60-day suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to impose 
a maximum of a 120-day suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 

◦   Minimum fine of $2,500 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence of 
aggravating factors could be used to impose 
a maximum fine of $10,000. 
 

◦   Minimum 90-day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors 
could be used to impose a maximum 
of a 180-day suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 

◦ Minimum fine of $5,000 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of  
$15,000. 

 

LICENSED OWNER:   
1st offense TCO2 (> 37.0mml/l-
<39mml/l) 

2nd offense TCO2 (> 37.0mml/l-<39mml/l) 3rd offense TCO2 (> 37.0mml/l-
<39mml/l) 

◦ Disqualification of horse and loss 
of purse. 

◦ Disqualification of horse and loss of 
purse. 

◦ Disqualification of horse, loss of purse 
and in the absence of mitigating 
circumstances, $2,500 fine. 

LICENSED TRAINER:   
1st offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 2nd offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 3rd offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 

◦   Minimum 30-day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum of a 
60-day suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 

◦  Minimum fine of $2,500 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors could 
be used to impose a maximum fine 
of $10,000. 
 

◦   Minimum 60-day suspension absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum of a 180-day 
suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 

◦   Minimum fine of $5,000 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of $15,000. 

◦   Minimum 90-day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances. The 
presence of aggravating factors 
could be used to impose a maximum 
of a 365-day suspension. 
 

AND/OR 
 
◦   Minimum fine of $10,000 absent 
mitigating circumstances. The presence 
of aggravating factors could be used to 
impose a maximum fine of $25,000. 
 

LICENSED OWNER:   
1st offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 2nd offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 3rd offense TCO2 (≥ 39.0mml/l) 
◦ Disqualification of horse and loss 
of purse. 

◦ Disqualification of horse and loss of 
purse. 

◦ Disqualification of horse, loss of purse 
and a fine ranging from a minimum of 
$5,000, up to a maximum of $20,000.  
 



  

 
CATEGORY “C” PENALTIES 
 
Penalties for violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which CHRB drug 
classification is categorized as warranting a Category C penalty and for the presence of more than one non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory (NSAID) in a plasma/serum sample, as defined in Rule 1844 of this division, and 
furosemide as defined in Rule 1845 of this division in an official test sample are as set forth below. All 
concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma. 
 
 

LICENSED TRAINER: 

1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period) 3rd offense (365-day period) 

 
◦   Minimum fine of $500 to a 
maximum fine of $1,000 absent 
mitigating circumstances.   

 

 
◦   Minimum fine of $1,000 to a 
maximum fine of $2,500, and up to a 15 - 
day suspension absent mitigating 
circumstances. 
 

 
◦   Minimum fine of $2,500 and 
up to a 30 - day suspension 
absent mitigating circumstances 
 

 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 



  

 
CATEGORY “C” PENALTIES FOR RULE 1844, AUTHORIZED MEDICATION (C) (1), (2), (3)  
 
Penalties for violations due to overages for permitted non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug substances (NSAIDs) as 
defined in Rule 1844 (c) (1), (2) and (3) of this division. All concentrations are for measurements in serum or plasma.    
 
 The official veterinarian shall consult with the treating veterinarian in all violations of 1844 (c).  With permission of the 
official veterinarian the trainer may elect to pay the minimum fine in lieu of a stewards’ hearing. If the trainer has not had 
an 1844 (c) violation within the previous three years, the official veterinarian or the board of stewards may issue a 
warning in lieu of a fine for violations of 1844 (c)(1), phenylbutazone, provided the reported level is below 5.1 mcg/ml. 

 
 

 

 (e) Violations due to the presence of a drug substance in an official test sample, which CHRB drug 

classification is categorized as warranting a Category  “D” penalty, may result in a written warning for a first 

offense to the licensed trainer and owner. A Category “D” penalty for a first offense may result in a written 

warning or fine that will remain on the licensee’s record for a period of two years.  After the two year period, if 

LICENSED TRAINER: Phenylbutazone (5.1-<10.0mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (20 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (11-49 ng/ml) 

Phenylbutazone (5.1-<10.0mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (20 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (11-49 ng/ml) 

1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period) 3rd offense (365-day period) 
◦ Minimum fine of $500 to 
a maximum fine of $1,000. 

◦ Minimum fine of $1,000 to a 
maximum fine of $2,500. 
 

◦ Minimum fine of $2,500 to a 
maximum fine of $5,000.  
 

LICENSED OWNER: Phenylbutazone (5.1-<10.0mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (20 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (11-49 ng/ml) 

Phenylbutazone (5.1-<10.0mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (20 100 ng/ml)  
Ketoprofen (11-49 ng/ml) 

1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period) 3rd offense (365-day period) 
No penalty administered. No penalty administered. No penalty administered. 
LICENSED TRAINER: Phenylbutazone (≥ 10.0 mcg/ml) 

Flunixin (≥ 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (≥ 50 ng/ml) 

Phenylbutazone (≥ 10.0 mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (≥ 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (≥ 50 ng/ml) 

1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period) 3rd offense (365-day period) 
◦ Minimum fine of $1,000 to 
a maximum fine of $2,500. 

◦ Minimum fine of $2,500 to a 
maximum fine of $5,000.  
 

◦ Minimum fine of $5,000 to a 
maximum fine of $10,000.   

LICENSED OWNER: Phenylbutazone (≥ 10.0 mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (≥ 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (≥ 50 ng/ml) 

Phenylbutazone (≥ 10.0 mcg/ml) 
Flunixin (≥ 100 ng/ml) 
Ketoprofen (≥ 50 ng/ml) 

1st offense 2nd offense (365-day period) 3rd offense (365-day period) 
◦ Horse must pass Board-
approved examination 
pursuant to Rule 1846 before 
being eligible to run. 

◦ Disqualification of horse and loss of 
purse.  If same horse, placed on 
veterinarian’s list for up to 45-days, must 
pass Board-approved examination 
pursuant to Rule 1846 before being 
eligible to run.   

◦ Disqualification of horse and 
 loss of purse.  Minimum $5,000 fine. If 
same horse, placed on veterinarian’s list 
for 60 days, must pass Board-approved 
examination pursuant to Rule 1846 
before being eligible to run 
 



  

the licensee has had no further violations of CHRB Rule 1843, the Category “D” penalty will be expunged from 

the licensee’s record for penalty purposes. 

CATEGORY “D” PENALTIES 

1ST offense (365 day period) 2nd offense (365 day period) 3rd offense (365 day period) 
Minimum of an official written 
warning to a maximum fine of 
$250. 

Minimum of a $250 fine to a 
maximum fine of $500. 

Minimum of a $500 fine to a 
maximum fine of $750. 

 

CATEGORY “D” PENALTIES FOR RULE 1844(C)(1) VIOLATIONS 

Phenylbutazone 2.1ug/ml to 5.0 ug/ml 
1st offense (365 day period) 2nd offense (365 day period) 3rd offense (365 day period) 

Minimum of an official written 
warning to a maximum fine of 
$250. 

Minimum of a $250 fine to a 
maximum fine of $500. 

Minimum of a $500 fine to a 
maximum fine of $750. 

 

 (f) Any drug or its metabolite or analogue thereof found to be present in an official test sample that is 

not classified in Rule 1843.2 of this division shall be classified as a Class 1 substance and a Category “A” 

penalty until classified by the Board.   

(g) The administration of a drug substance to a race horse must be documented by the treating 

veterinarian through the process described in Rule 1842 of this division.  

(h) Any licensee found to be responsible for the administration of any drug substance resulting in a 

positive test may be subject to the same penalties set forth for the licensed trainer and his presence may be 

required at any and all hearings relative to the case.  

(1) Any veterinarian found to be involved in the administration of any drug substance resulting 

in a positive test in Penalty Category “A” shall be referred to the California Veterinary Medical Board (CVMB) 

for consideration of further disciplinary action.  

(2) Any veterinarian found to be involved in the administration of any drug substance resulting 

in a positive test in Penalty Category “B” or “C” may be referred to the CVMB for consideration of further 

disciplinary action upon the recommendation of the Equine Medical Director, the board of stewards or hearing 

officers. 



  

(i) A licensee who is suspended, or whose license is revoked, because of a medication violation is not 

able to benefit financially during the period of suspension or revocation. This includes, but is not limited to, 

ensuring that horses are not transferred to licensed family members.  

(j) For the purpose of this regulation “licensed family members” means any person who holds an 

occupational license issued by the CHRB and who is related to the suspended licensee, or the licensee whose 

license is revoked, by blood, or by marriage or domestic partnership, or who is related by blood to the spouse or 

domestic partner of such licensee.   

(l) For the purpose of this regulation, licensed trainers suspended 60 days or more, or whose license is 

revoked, shall be banned from all inclosures under the jurisdiction of the CHRB.  In addition, during the period 

of suspension, or revocation, such trainer shall forfeit all assigned stall space and shall remove from the 

inclosures all signage, advertisements, training-related equipment, tack, office equipment, and any other 

property. 

 

Authority: Sections 19440, 19461 and 19580, 
  Business and Professions Code. 
 
 
Reference: Sections 19461, 19580, 19581 and 19582, 
  Business and Professions Code. 
 
  Section 11425.50, 
  Government Code. 
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